Homemade Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lani76
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
It came out perfectly with a few changes that other reviewers recommended. I added 1tsp of dried basil and then 1 TBSP of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I'd double the meat, use some home made stew tomatos, and put ground thyme instead of dried, and put chili powder in place if the basil when i discover i was out of basil and it still turn out to rave reveiws from my family. I add a pinch more of the chili power and thyme the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This worked well for me since I was just trying to figure out how to use up a bunch of end-of-season tomatoes. I did add onion, celery and celery leaves to this and chopped my tomatoes a bit smaller. Used this in several recipes from this site and they worked perfectly in those recipes every time! Will use again for season batches of tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
My Mom used to put sugar, butter and bread in the tomatoes. The bread absorbed the tomato juice and the butter and sugar made a lovely gloss on the bread. You let it sit to firm up a bit and then serve. She called this stewed tomatoes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginag

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These were pretty good. I think it needs more salt. Also mine were very watery...maybe it was my tomatoes? I used these in spaghetti and then lasagna the following days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Very easy recipe. Just what I had in mind. I'm still learning some of the basics, so this was very helpful. Homemade doesn't even compare to canned. I also cut up some fresh okra and added it along with some fresh ground pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
You just can't beat fresh toms! Prepared this way they are tasty and way easy. I am however anti sugar in them. Add some crumbled bacon & black pepper and serve over a hot bed of white rice and you've got a great Southern side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good basic recipe. It needs sugar. Thanks Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
The tomatoes need only 30 seconds in the hot water and peeling them is much easier if you cut a little X on the bottom before putting them in the hot water so that you can peel them whole if you want. A little sugar should definately be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is not really stewed tomatoes. Stewed tomatoes are made with sugar, peppers, and onions. This is just "canned tomatoes" at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States