Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Very tasty and very simple to prepare. I simmered it all day and it made the house smell wonderful. It made a very large pot of sauce, much more than 6 servings as the recipe states. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I used a large can of crushed and a large can of diced tomatoes and reduced the recipe by 1 cup of water. This was a great sauce with body and full flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This came out wonderfully, but I'm at a loss as to why it needs to be simmered for more than 40 minutes. I didn't have basil on hand, so I substituted with oregano and followed the directions to the letter otherwise, and I have to say, it came out divinely. Very flavorful and rich without being too heavy. It's now officially my favorite meatless sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Yum! I still have 2 hours of cooking time left and this is by far the best recipe for spaghetti sauce ever! I used tomatoes from my garden and it is my first time cooking with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Now I can make batches of this until my tomatoes are gone and freeze it for later!! Thanks Cathy! My house smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
A most definite keeper. Took my time with this one but added 1 tblsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 2 bay leaves. Absolutely fantastic! Had even frozen half of it and seemed to taste even better afterwards. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe was very very good and my husband really loved it. He's not even a real spaghetti fan so I took that as a big do-over idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I tweaked because I used what I had on hand. WONDERFUL SAUCE!! My husband and I both agreed it was our favorite: 1 chopped onion cooked til transparent, 4-5 cloved garlic chopped, 2-15 oz. cans petit diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil added, 1-15 oz. can tomato sauce, 1 Tblsp. olive oil, 1 1/2 Tblsp. sugar, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. course black pepper, 3 heaping Tblsp. Italian seasoning, 2 heaping Tblsp. basil. I had NO red pepper and NO wine, and I added NO water. That's what I had on hand and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Amazing...I only tweeked a little to make it spicer and I did add fresh oregano. Great recipe!!! I used San Marzano Tomatoes (D.O.P. certified)....made the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This sauce is excellent - reduced the water by 1/2 and increased tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this recipe with fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce b/c that's what I had - it was AMAZING! My kids kept walking by and eating a spoonful of it. So good! I actually quadrupled it twice and froze several batches - can't wait to try it in different Italian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States