Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I used a large can of crushed and a large can of diced tomatoes and reduced the recipe by 1 cup of water. This was a great sauce with body and full flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
A most definite keeper. Took my time with this one but added 1 tblsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 2 bay leaves. Absolutely fantastic! Had even frozen half of it and seemed to taste even better afterwards. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Amazing...I only tweeked a little to make it spicer and I did add fresh oregano. Great recipe!!! I used San Marzano Tomatoes (D.O.P. certified)....made the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Yum! I still have 2 hours of cooking time left and this is by far the best recipe for spaghetti sauce ever! I used tomatoes from my garden and it is my first time cooking with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Now I can make batches of this until my tomatoes are gone and freeze it for later!! Thanks Cathy! My house smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe was very very good and my husband really loved it. He's not even a real spaghetti fan so I took that as a big do-over idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Very tasty and very simple to prepare. I simmered it all day and it made the house smell wonderful. It made a very large pot of sauce, much more than 6 servings as the recipe states. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This came out wonderfully, but I'm at a loss as to why it needs to be simmered for more than 40 minutes. I didn't have basil on hand, so I substituted with oregano and followed the directions to the letter otherwise, and I have to say, it came out divinely. Very flavorful and rich without being too heavy. It's now officially my favorite meatless sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I tweaked because I used what I had on hand. WONDERFUL SAUCE!! My husband and I both agreed it was our favorite: 1 chopped onion cooked til transparent, 4-5 cloved garlic chopped, 2-15 oz. cans petit diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil added, 1-15 oz. can tomato sauce, 1 Tblsp. olive oil, 1 1/2 Tblsp. sugar, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. course black pepper, 3 heaping Tblsp. Italian seasoning, 2 heaping Tblsp. basil. I had NO red pepper and NO wine, and I added NO water. That's what I had on hand and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This sauce is excellent - reduced the water by 1/2 and increased tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this recipe with fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce b/c that's what I had - it was AMAZING! My kids kept walking by and eating a spoonful of it. So good! I actually quadrupled it twice and froze several batches - can't wait to try it in different Italian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States