Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
easy recipe to use fresh grown tomatoes!very easy to prepare in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Very tasty and very simple to prepare. I simmered it all day and it made the house smell wonderful. It made a very large pot of sauce, much more than 6 servings as the recipe states. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I used a large can of crushed and a large can of diced tomatoes and reduced the recipe by 1 cup of water. This was a great sauce with body and full flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Didn't care for this one, not saying it's a bad recipe, just wasn't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
To runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was a very tasty way to enjoy spaggheti sauce on a low fat/low salt diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This came out wonderfully, but I'm at a loss as to why it needs to be simmered for more than 40 minutes. I didn't have basil on hand, so I substituted with oregano and followed the directions to the letter otherwise, and I have to say, it came out divinely. Very flavorful and rich without being too heavy. It's now officially my favorite meatless sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Yum! I still have 2 hours of cooking time left and this is by far the best recipe for spaghetti sauce ever! I used tomatoes from my garden and it is my first time cooking with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Now I can make batches of this until my tomatoes are gone and freeze it for later!! Thanks Cathy! My house smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I have to agree with the other viewers - too watery. I added salt because taste was a little bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Just like some of the others warned, this was waaaaaaaay too watery. If you follow the normal recipe, you might as well pull out a cup and straw 'cause you will end up with tomato water. I had to cut the recipe by one cup of water and still had to add 3 extra 6 ounce cans of paste just for it to come out somewhat normal. For added flavor, I put in 1.5 cups of parmesean cheese and 2 extra cloves of garlic. Unless you are cooking for all of Rome, cut the number of servings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States