Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
easy recipe to use fresh grown tomatoes!very easy to prepare in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Very tasty and very simple to prepare. I simmered it all day and it made the house smell wonderful. It made a very large pot of sauce, much more than 6 servings as the recipe states. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I used a large can of crushed and a large can of diced tomatoes and reduced the recipe by 1 cup of water. This was a great sauce with body and full flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Didn't care for this one, not saying it's a bad recipe, just wasn't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
To runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was a very tasty way to enjoy spaggheti sauce on a low fat/low salt diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This came out wonderfully, but I'm at a loss as to why it needs to be simmered for more than 40 minutes. I didn't have basil on hand, so I substituted with oregano and followed the directions to the letter otherwise, and I have to say, it came out divinely. Very flavorful and rich without being too heavy. It's now officially my favorite meatless sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Yum! I still have 2 hours of cooking time left and this is by far the best recipe for spaghetti sauce ever! I used tomatoes from my garden and it is my first time cooking with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Now I can make batches of this until my tomatoes are gone and freeze it for later!! Thanks Cathy! My house smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I have to agree with the other viewers - too watery. I added salt because taste was a little bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Just like some of the others warned, this was waaaaaaaay too watery. If you follow the normal recipe, you might as well pull out a cup and straw 'cause you will end up with tomato water. I had to cut the recipe by one cup of water and still had to add 3 extra 6 ounce cans of paste just for it to come out somewhat normal. For added flavor, I put in 1.5 cups of parmesean cheese and 2 extra cloves of garlic. Unless you are cooking for all of Rome, cut the number of servings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States