Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe was very very good and my husband really loved it. He's not even a real spaghetti fan so I took that as a big do-over idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was surprisingly underwhelming! It wasn't BAD, but it wasn't great. I have a hard time getting excited about "OK" recipes. I probably won't make this again unless I make some serious changes. I'm looking for out-of-this world flavor and this recipe didn't even come close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
People are correct as to the water volume,thats a ridiculous amount. I used Tomatoes from our garden and about 4 cups of H2O with 3 cans of Tom. paste. It came out perfect. I added some other goodies from the garden as well. It was straight up Vege Sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I didnt even try putting all this water in this sauce. I put 3 cups in, but I used my own tomato sauce and tomatoes that I canned too. It was very good. And added more fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
A little too red winey flavored for me, but I will keep this recipe and alter it slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of two:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mayfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
A most definite keeper. Took my time with this one but added 1 tblsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 2 bay leaves. Absolutely fantastic! Had even frozen half of it and seemed to taste even better afterwards. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I made this recipe using REGULAR peeled ground tomatoes. I added MORE garlic. I also let it simmer for 7 hours. It came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I had to cook for about 6 hours to get it to not be so watery, and the taste was worst then the cheapest canned store bought sauce in my opinion. Even with doctoring it up, it was bland yet spicy at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Something is wrong with this recipe. It has way to much water. It doesnot thicken in the cooking process and is a very watery spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I thought that 7 C. of water seemed a bit much. I think it must be a typo! I used only 2 c. of water, and upped the amount of red wine to 1c. also added salt. It might be that it's hard to find crushed tomatoes in PASTE and everyone is using crushed tomatoes in JUICE, the way that you find it in the stores. But I also added Parmesan cheese and meat. Came out okay. Just your basic tomato sauce. I'll keep looking- the one i'm looking for is thick and rich, not too chunky with a rich wine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States