Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Question... im using fresh tomaoes from my garded. Do I peel the tomatoes before cooking them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I have made a lot of versions of basic spaghetti sauce and this one worked the best. It had just the right amount of herbs and spices and was absolutely delicious. Best eaten the second day, and freezes like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for. I have a family recipe that always started with Prego as a base. Then we add the rest. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I thought the recipe came out great, but I made a couple of changes. I couldn't find peeled tomatoes in paste, so i just brought canned peeled whole tomatoes in juice/sauce, and brought an extra can of tomato paste. I added sautéed green peppers.I used NO water. For me, the juice from the cooked onions, green peppers, and canned tomatoes produced more than enough water. I put it it in my slow cooker on "low" for 5-6 hours. This was my own particular twist, but i added a small habanero pepper to give it an extra "kick" to it- you don't have to do this though. Ive been reading for years that once you make your own simple spaghetti sauce, you'll never go back to store brought spaghetti sauce again- now I know that to be true! Goodbye Prego and Ragu, its homemade sauce from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
omg I loved it its amazing this recipe is great is you follow it the right way :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcup46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This sauce was fantastic! I let mine simmer in a crockpot on low for 8 hours for timesake and it worked great! The reason for 4 stars would be the way the recipe is written. I agree that 7C water is too much for my liking. I used 4 C water. My local stores do not carry ground tomatoes in paste- so I was forced to used Crushed tomatoes in puree. It seemed to work just fine for me. The flavor was very seasoned and delicious. Can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I thought that this recipe was WONDERFUL. I dont know why everyone is saying to not use so much water. I used the measurements, and I actually added some. I dont know if their not simmering it long enough or what, but I simmered mine longer then suggested because my husband was late from work, and because of that, I added a bit more water. My family is Italian, and this came close to my grandmothers sauce...except, when I was pouring the wine, a little extra spilled in, and it was a little more then my liking, but that was my fault. Take your time with this sauce, let it simmer a long time, and if you can put it in the fridge over night, reheat the next evening and serve. Sauce is always better the next day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I cooked for 6 hours, added a teaspoon of salt and only 6 cups of water. It was worth the wait:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I also used home grown tomatoes and NO water. I changed the recipe quite a bit. Other than the basic cooking directions, I didn't really follow the recipe at all. I also simmered for longer than this recipe called for. My end result was absolutely delicious. I would suggest following the very basics of this recipe, but not the recipe as a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this recipe with fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce b/c that's what I had - it was AMAZING! My kids kept walking by and eating a spoonful of it. So good! I actually quadrupled it twice and froze several batches - can't wait to try it in different Italian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States