Homemade Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good recipe, I didn't feel comfortable leaving a jar of cream and milk out even though the vinegar was probably enough to kill bacteria, I cheated I mixed it up with my kitchen aid until it looked like sour cream, and turned out tasting great plus I added a pinch of salt. Thank you for the recipe. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiltcochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe! Super easy. I used the buttermilk version & it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joycazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Worked great! I was a little worried about leaving the ingredients unrefrigerated but it all worked out fine! This is a little runny compared to store bought, but you at least know what is being used to make it! Great for baked potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Fabulous ! Made it numerous times now. Thanks for posting this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I sized the recipe for 4 servings. I but it in a medium container and whipped it up with my motor boat. Its like when you do it for whipping cream. I labeled it. I like to know what goes into the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Blais

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Thank you for adding this. For whatever reason, I can't get sour cream in Panama. My husband loves sour cream and I found this recipe. It works great and he loves it! He has bragged and bragged on me for making sour cream for him! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This works like a charm- very thick and rich! Sterilize your Mason jar. I used buttermilk and a good quality heavy (high butterfat) cream. Secure the lid and canning ring, shake, and let sit on the counter for 24 hours, undisturbed! We can now taste the difference between home made and store bought, and will be using this recipe from here on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
like another reviewer, I was not comfortable leaving this sit out overnight. I downsized the recipe to 3/4 cup cream, 3 T milk and 1/2 tsp white vinegar, whizzed it in the magic bullet for maybe 10 seconds total, and this is sour cream!!!! so handy as I had cream on hand but not sour cream, now I can make one of the mashed potato recipes from this site that look so good and call for sour cream. thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Also, try half pint of whipping cream and a splash of lemon juice and salt to taste. Whip until thick. Careful not to overdo the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pagel Boysen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States