Homemade Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and the next day it was still heavy cream. So disappointed since in my country we don't have sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Also, try half pint of whipping cream and a splash of lemon juice and salt to taste. Whip until thick. Careful not to overdo the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pagel Boysen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe didn't work for me. I followed it as written. Only thing I may have done differently was use raw cream and raw milk from our cow. I am not sure if I did something wrong but after 24 hours the cream was still liquid and had a pungent sour smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe! Super easy. I used the buttermilk version & it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joycazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but had something very runny that did not look or smell or taste at all like sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This works like a charm- very thick and rich! Sterilize your Mason jar. I used buttermilk and a good quality heavy (high butterfat) cream. Secure the lid and canning ring, shake, and let sit on the counter for 24 hours, undisturbed! We can now taste the difference between home made and store bought, and will be using this recipe from here on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had a quart of cream that I wanted to use, so I 4x the recipe. It has been 28 hours, and it is still cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Thank you for adding this. For whatever reason, I can't get sour cream in Panama. My husband loves sour cream and I found this recipe. It works great and he loves it! He has bragged and bragged on me for making sour cream for him! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I have tried making this twice and I have had not luck! The first time it did not harden up. The second time it just tasted like cream, not sour cream. I really want this to work. I have followed the recipe, any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States