Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe! I especially like the fact that it includes mustard, which is left out of many recipes. You don't taste mustard, but it adds something that you really miss if it isn't there. If you don't have Dijon mustard, using whatever kind of mustard you have would be better than no mustard. I left out the black pepper, because I'm allergic to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelani54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
So Good Cooks Up just Great > Awesome ! Never out of a can again. Thank-You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for an easy, retro meal. I feel like I've taken a trip back to the 70's... Man, I miss Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very good in the fact of adding a good combination of ingredients. I used some leftover beef broth and tomatoe sauce 1/2 ketchup 1/2 just to use leftovers and its till good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
No more Manwich for my family! My family loved this recipie--I just added a splash of cider vinegar for an extra tang! Perfect. Thanks Chef John-Cant wait to try more of your recipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very easy to make and my son loved it!!! I added mushrooms and I used 70/30 lean meat instead of the extra lean. I didn't add the extra cup of water at the end it was already a bit liquidy from the first cup. but it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Kofoed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
wow... what can i say? this is good. i never changed a thing & my wife & I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
WOW! Gotta say I was skeptical but my husband says I need to be open minded; so glad I was. We are both on a diet so the salt concerned me therefore I omitted it and hoped for the best. I also chose regular mustard as it has less fat, sugar, sodium & carbs (again for our diet.) As I was making it our 11 month old twins decided they were hungry too so after step 1 I threw everything in the pan and tended to them stiring every few minutes. I gotta say after an hour or so it was so delicious. I only had a pound of meat but it made about 8 small "diet" appropriate portions for us. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
very yummy. homemade is so much better . Love this site !!!! i added celery diced real small and added the garlic in the beginning.. and the last cup of water ?? id do half that next time..using lean meat is the way to go !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is a great base recipe for a standard sloppy joe. I used onion powder, sweet red pepper, and a good pinch of cayenne powder. I used a mix of white sugar and molasses for the brown sugar and doubled the worcestershire. I didn't use all the water called for it seemed way too much for it just to cook back out again. Instead of salt I used a bit of chicken bouillion granules. This took a little over an hour to simmer down to nearly dry. This was just standard sloppy joe, not tangy enough for me though and I like it kicked up a bit so it was kind of boring for me as it is. (I love Ruby Drive or Dallas Style) So... overall not my favorite from here, but pretty darned good, Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States