Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This a great recipe and I have made it often with half venison and half beef. I have made my own additions. I use Ketchapeno from Kitchen Fire, in place of Ketchup, great stuff. That spices it up! If you can't find Ketchapeno then add a jalapeno or two to jazz it up.Enjoy the retro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I put less water just 1/2 cup. Instead of just Ketchup I put 3/4 of BBQ Sauce and 1/4 of Ketchup, and add more veggies like fresh tomatoes, Yellow, green and red bell peppers and Cayenne pepper (it brings more flavor to the dish). Really really good recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
So good! My memory of sloppy joes from childhood is that they're kind of "meh," but these are incredible. You really do need to plan in some time and be patient enough to let the liquid reduce way down. I really like that there's not a lot of tomato in this recipe--only the little bit of ketchup. Some sloppy joe recipes call for lots of tomato sauce and/or paste, which I think would drown out the other delicious flavors. This is a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made this recipe with ground turkey and it was a HUGE HIT! Even a person who does not like ground turkey or sloppy joes loved it!! I didn't add the second round of water as I was putting it in a crock pot to keep it warm and it had plenty of moisture. Have made it twice already and GONE both times! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
OMG, this is just like what my dad used to make when he was still here thanks for sharing and this will get passed on "awesome recipe"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
A bit too sweet. Pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Oh so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Deibel
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Delicious recipe! I tend to cook 3 to 5 lbs of ground beef at a time with puréed onion, garlic, and tomato and then use in different recipes during the week to cut down on cooking time. I mixed the sauce ingredients with 1 cup of water and a dash of paprika instead of cayenne pepper and 1 tbs of dried mustard (was out of Dijon) and simmered until beginning to thicken. I then added precooked ground beef and simmered until thick. Turned out with a lot more flavor than the canned sloppy joe sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I really don't understand the reasoning behind all the water. It can slow simmer with the lid on the pan and accumulate plenty of moisture but I followed the instructions anyway. No lid, just simmered it until it was thick. I think I used a little too much cayenne. All in all, my husband loved it. I really eyeballed the ingredients. I think I used a little too much sugar so I toned it down with vinegar. I guess I was surprised to hear my husband say how much he really liked it. I have a couple other recipes from this site that I like just as much but this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Not bad but too wet and not enough kick. I added 1 can of RoTel, 1 can of diced tomatoes, no water at all, 1 small can of Penn. Dutch mushrooms and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of cayenne and simmered for 2 hrs so all flavors could be tasted. I also upped the Worcestershire and Dijon, but a great starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Hartog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States