Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I love this recipe!!! A little coating mixture goes a long way so I found that I had a ton left over the first time I made it. I've started substituing garlic powder and baking powder for the real thing. Now I only pour what I need into a bag for shaking and I keep the rest in a separate bag in the refrigerator. It stays fresh and ready for me to use for months and makes cooking a breeze!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My hubby loves shake and bake and said "tastes just like shake n bake, only better". Great kid food too. Tender, moist, no trans fats here folks. I cut the recipe in half and used approx 1/2 of that on a cut up whole chicken. I sprinkled the chicken with H20 b4 shaking, and sprayed the cooking sheet with oil. At 400 degrees whole pieces of chicken take about 40 minutes in my oven, boneless pieces about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I am more than thrilled that I found this recipe! My husband is a shake & bake freak (not to mention my baby has an egg allergy), and as I like fried foods, I'm NO good at doing it...at all! Well, this recipe is just as good, if not better than store bought, the chicken was very tender. I took another reviewers advise & cut the salt in 1/2 (because of the celery & garlic salts) but next time I will use the correct amount of salt & cut the celery salt in 1/2. Thanks so much Sara, for the recipe & saving me some cash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Truly excellent. I was about to make dinner when I realized that I had forgotten the coating mix for the chicken. This is great. It's less expensive and has less sodium than the boxed stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Just roughly measured the ingredients. I used herb-seasoned stuffing mix and pure (not extra virgin) olive oil. It is the addition of the oil that is key to the meat's success, ensuring that it will turn out crispy and golden. I used this mixture in the recipe for "Oven Fried Pork Chops," and it gave that coating the oil and extra seasoning I felt it needed. The two recipes were a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Great recipe except I cut out the Salt. You get enough with the Garlic salt and Celery salt. Have made this recipe many times. Family loves it and it's better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made a half recipe of this. I omitted the additional salt and used Beau Monde seasoning instead of celery salt because that was all I had on hand. Looking at the bread crumbs, I didn't think there was enough seasoning so I threw in more. A half recipe covered eight large-ish chicken legs. Great fill in for the commercially made coating but with less by products. Thumbs up from the family, I'll make this again with the increased spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe was a good starting point, but calls for way way way way toooo much salt! I made a small batch of this - it was enough to cover two leg quarters, two breasts, and two tender loins. 4 slices bread - bake at 283 for 25 minutes till completely dry and lightly brown. Break up and put in food processor till all fine crumbs. This made a little more than one cup of crumbs for me. 1/4 tsp salt 1/4 tsp paprika 1/4 tsp celery Seeds 1/4 tsp ground pepper 1/4 tsp garlic granules 1/4 tsp onion powder dash basil dash oregano add all ingredients and process again till combined. Place in large bag. Add one piece of chicken at a time and shake till covered. Bake chicken pieces on greased cookie sheet for about 40 minutes at 375 degrees. Check temperature with internal thermometer and make sure it's at lease 165 degrees. Yum! We had cheese topped broccoli and rice on the side. Double yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Thank You! My husband is one of the pickiest eaters, especially when it comes to chicken, but I made this for dinner with boneless chicken breasts, and he said it was some of the best chicken he had ever had! PEOPLE you have GOT to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This is a great recipe! I won't buy commercial shake n bake again, this is so easy. I changed the servings to 2, because I only had one cup of bread crumbs, but it made just enough for one chicken. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States