Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Much less greasy than the stuff that comes out of the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is good but as others have said, too much salt. I cut back the salt, used celery seed, dehydrated onion and garlic powder and it was delicious. I have lots left over in the fridge, can't wait to try it on something other than chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Used last night on my baked fish. Good and easy. I too omitted the salt and added more garlic powder. Rest is in thr freezer for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is not shake n bake flavor so I didn't go 5 stars but it IS very good! I used Glutino's bread crumbs to make it GF and basted the chicken in lite mayo and mustard first. Great seasonings, family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I did like the flavors in this, but it was MUCH too salty, and I had used garlic powder instead of garlic salt because of other reviews warning about the saltiness. I wish I had used celery seed instead of celery salt and had cut back the amount of regular salt, also. As it was, it bordered on inedible for me and a couple of others eating here tonight. I used it on chicken wings and half the recipe was plenty for coating a dozen full wings (24 pieces in all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
With a few "tweeks" I think I made it even better. Just substitute a tsp celery seed and a tsp of granulated garlic for the two "salt "versions and a tsp of onion powder for the minced onion. Also, add a teaspoon or two of poultry seasoning in place of the basil, parsley and oregano. Bake at 375 deg for one hour, removing the breast pieces at the 45 minute mark. I also used Italian bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is amazing. Made enough for 4 meals. I just put the unused portion in the freezer. I take the skin off and lightly coat the chicken with EVOO to get the mix to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is so easy to make and it tastes just like the store bought version. My kids are not big chicken eaters, but eat it when I use this recipe for chicken. I use seasoned salt instead of regular and celery salt, and italian seasoning instead of the basil, parsely and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Good mix. Makes a very large recipe, so I divided it and stored half for use at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I have made this several times now with the following changes. I omit the plain salt altogether. I also when it comes to the celery salt and garlic salt make them scant on their measurements. I also cut this in half and still have plenty to do 8 to 10 thighs. When I do this for the 2 cups of bread crumbs I put 1/2 C of panko crumbs to give it a bit more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANNE SHALD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States