Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great recipe, just ditch the additional salt! It simply isn't necessary. I find the store bought stuff is much too salty as well, and this recipe is perfect without it. The celery salt and garlic salt add enough to make it tasty without being over seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Better than the store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nussa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sag Harbor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
FANTASTIC!!! Used just as is and was VERY pleased with the outcome! I used it on Pork Chops instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. I reduced the salt. a lot and it worked great. First I did not added the salt, reduced the celery salt to 3/4 tbsp and changed the garlic salt to garlic powder. This makes enough for several meals if you use a separate bag to coat the meat. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made a few adjustments to this pretty good basic recipe. After adding salt and celery salt, I decided to substitute garlic salt for garlic powder. I also added a dash of onion powder. Since it called for basil and oregano I substituted crushed Italian seasoning. :) thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
It tastes just as good as anything I've tried for breading. I used it on pork chops, bone in, 3/4 inch thick. I baked in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 min each side (check temp - may need more or less time). At first I wasn't sure about putting the oil in the bag with the seasoning but it coated the meat perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Good ideas. I like wheatgerm too. Most bread crumbs have Partially hydrogenated oils. Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was good. I used melted butter in lieu of vegetable oil; trying to stay organic/non gmo and keep away from processed foods. I made about 12 drumsticks, and I cut the serving size from 8, all the way down to 2, and I still had quite a bit left over. Also left out the celery salt, just because I didn't have it, and used onion power instead of minced onion. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Went to the pantry only to find I was out of Shake and Bake. Tried this recipe and it was a big hit. The kids said they like it better than Shake and Bake. I used it on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was awesome,I too cut out the salt used hot paprika and panko bread crumbs for extra crunch,i will keep using this as a base but will experiment with different seasonings. Thank you for the recipe. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States