Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I've used it for chicken, pork chops, breaded zucchini, etc. The recipe makes quite a bit and (since I make my own dried bread crumbs from left-over bread) it costs very little to make. The purchased product costs $2.50 per box so this is quite a welcome addition to my recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this recipe cut down to serve four. I also used celery seed instead of celery salt, and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. It was still a little too salty for me, but very good. A friend actually likes salty things and thought it was perfect. I'll leave 3/4 of the salt out next time. I used mine on chicken tenders, baked at 350F until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very easy and healthier than the store brand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
What's best about this recipes is that it's so versatile to whatever you have in the cupboard. I halved the recipe and divided it into thirds, throwing the other two servings into the freezer. I didn't measure anything except the oil and bread crumbs (I used Italian). I just tossed this and that into the mix, but the recipe gave me a great outline to start with. I used my mix on pork. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My whole family raved about this, and requested to make it quite often. I was short on the bread crumbs, so I used 2 c. bread crumbs and 2 c. crushed whole wheat flake cereal. I also was out of paprika and oregano, but the taste was still great. I may end up trying this on fish as well. Much cheaper than store bought, over-all. I'm all for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this due to husband loving it. He said it better not be homemade, but loved the taste of it. I think it tastes better than the real stuff. Only made 1/2 batch but turned out great. Used it on boneless breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Tastes Even Better than the store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Ive been to allrecipes many times b4 but this recipe made up my mind. I signed up here today just to post this comment! Perfect imposter recipe I have to say - probably even better since its been many years since I have used "shake and bake". Brought back some memories indeed! Many thanks for a great site and a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I used garlic and onion powder instead of salts, and cut the recipe in half because I only had a bit of bread crumbs on hand. This was excellent! Kids loved it, and hubby loved it, and he hates shake and bake. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I was out of bread crumbs, but had cheese its. Omitted the garlic salt, added more garlic powder and cut the celery salt in half. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States