Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is delicious!!! And it's so very forgiving. You can use whatever you have or like. I followed the recipe almost as written, I cut the salt to 1 tsp. and used Italian flavored breadcrumbs, because that's what I had. I made the full batch and it took about a cup for an 8 piece chicken. I threw the rest in a bag in the freezer. What a nice thing to have on hand and so inexpensive compared to store bought. Probably better for you, too. I dredged the chicken in egg before coating with mix. YUM and thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We wanted to cook American-style pork chops for our friends in China, so I used this recipe to make the coating. Our friends loved it so much they were eating the leftover crumbs from the pan! I had to make the breadcrumbs myself by baking several slices of bread and then grinding them in the food processor; I think this made the coating even better. I made half a recipe and it was enough to do two batches of pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was just a bunch of mush, and the flavor wasn't exciting at all. Will not be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Way too salty! Made again with maybe a teaspoon instead of a tablespoon of salt it would probably be good. I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe is wonderful except the salt! I read the reviews and took the advice of others, omitting and substituting where I could. The taste is spot on to the boxed mix and I love that I control the sodium. I halved the recipe and it made enough for 5 chops and enough leftover for another meal. I want to try adding some parm cheese for chicken or maybe some curry and cayenne for a change! It seems versatile and it costs relatively little in comparison to its boxed mentor! It's five star without the salt! Thank you Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I didn't have a lot of the spices on hand so I had to improvise a little but it was still incredible! No more store bought for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Halbig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Love this, allows me to avoid the shame of buying the boxed stuff! Good as written, but I cut the celery salt in half, it overpowers everything otherwise. I also ran out of garlic salt ages ago, so I just double the garlic powder (which I use in place of minced garlic) and keep the salt at the recommended amount. If you do use garlic salt, I'd recommend cutting back on the regular salt. I've started cutting the oil back too, you definitely don't need that much to get it crispy. The full recipe makes a huge batch of the stuff. I cook for two and at this point I think we've established that 1/4 of the recipe is all you need for 1.5-2 lb of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I scale this down to four servings. My husband and son loves this! The celery salt is what makes it. I added tons of fresh minced garlic. I use it for boneless pork chops. Bake at 400°F for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Love it and is a big fav for my hubby. We use this on Pork ribs - we sometimes leave out the celery seed and sometimes substitute Jalapeno Olive oil we got from Con Olio's in Austin a while back. My husband does not like pork but LOVES this and prefers it over any store bought panko type breading mixes. I will be honest though, I have never gone by measurements, I just eyeball it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
very good. I made a full batch and separated out about a cup to coat 8 medium sized thin cut pork chops. I put the rest in a plastic baggie and stuck in the freezer for a later use. We loved this and my kids are huge fans of shake and bake so this is perfect for us. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States