Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My "Ashamalie" is a total shake'em and bake'em freak and was so in the mood yesterday. I had zero time to run to the store as I had to work last night. I told her that if she could find a recipe on my site, I'd make it. I really thought I'd be off the hook, but dangit, she found this and was grinning from earring to earring. This was super Sara, but because I don't like a lot of salt in my foods, I cut it considerably. Thanks lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Excellent flavor. My whole family liked this, and that is saying something. We eat a lot of chicken, and it is hard to impress these days! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Good stuff! And much healthier then the store bought stuff that has trans fat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Truly excellent. I was about to make dinner when I realized that I had forgotten the coating mix for the chicken. This is great. It's less expensive and has less sodium than the boxed stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Great recipe except I cut out the Salt. You get enough with the Garlic salt and Celery salt. Have made this recipe many times. Family loves it and it's better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
My husband never even knew the difference!!!!! I will never spend the outrageous price for the real thing again!!! Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful!! Much better than the commercial kind. Used a cut up fryer and chicken came out of the oven (400 degrees for 50 minutes) tender and juicy. There's enough mix for at least one more chicken! Thanks for submitting, Sara. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This is a great recipe! I won't buy commercial shake n bake again, this is so easy. I changed the servings to 2, because I only had one cup of bread crumbs, but it made just enough for one chicken. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I'm giving it five stars because it tastes exactly like Shake 'n' Bake and it is very easy. I personally don't even like Shake 'n' Bake because I think the celery salt is too strong and it has no other flavor. I made it for my husband who liked it a lot. I'm pretty sure this would also work with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I am more than thrilled that I found this recipe! My husband is a shake & bake freak (not to mention my baby has an egg allergy), and as I like fried foods, I'm NO good at doing it...at all! Well, this recipe is just as good, if not better than store bought, the chicken was very tender. I took another reviewers advise & cut the salt in 1/2 (because of the celery & garlic salts) but next time I will use the correct amount of salt & cut the celery salt in 1/2. Thanks so much Sara, for the recipe & saving me some cash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States