Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
I do believe this is better than the boxed stuff. Wow it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Truly excellent. I was about to make dinner when I realized that I had forgotten the coating mix for the chicken. This is great. It's less expensive and has less sodium than the boxed stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Great recipe except I cut out the Salt. You get enough with the Garlic salt and Celery salt. Have made this recipe many times. Family loves it and it's better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I am more than thrilled that I found this recipe! My husband is a shake & bake freak (not to mention my baby has an egg allergy), and as I like fried foods, I'm NO good at doing it...at all! Well, this recipe is just as good, if not better than store bought, the chicken was very tender. I took another reviewers advise & cut the salt in 1/2 (because of the celery & garlic salts) but next time I will use the correct amount of salt & cut the celery salt in 1/2. Thanks so much Sara, for the recipe & saving me some cash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My "Ashamalie" is a total shake'em and bake'em freak and was so in the mood yesterday. I had zero time to run to the store as I had to work last night. I told her that if she could find a recipe on my site, I'd make it. I really thought I'd be off the hook, but dangit, she found this and was grinning from earring to earring. This was super Sara, but because I don't like a lot of salt in my foods, I cut it considerably. Thanks lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Excellent flavor. My whole family liked this, and that is saying something. We eat a lot of chicken, and it is hard to impress these days! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
My husband never even knew the difference!!!!! I will never spend the outrageous price for the real thing again!!! Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful!! Much better than the commercial kind. Used a cut up fryer and chicken came out of the oven (400 degrees for 50 minutes) tender and juicy. There's enough mix for at least one more chicken! Thanks for submitting, Sara. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This recipe is great! I have made chicken nuggets and bone in chicken breasts! The whole family loved it! I will continue to use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Good stuff! And much healthier then the store bought stuff that has trans fat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States