Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yum!! 'Nuff said! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I reduced anything by half and left out the celery salt, I'm allergic. This tasted wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Sietsma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very nice. I was surprised to find that there was just a hint of a bite. Pleasantly surprised. I halved the recipe and it was plenty of mix to coat enough chicken tenders for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Unfortunately the shake 'n bake recipe here is not the original chicken recipe of 1965 that was a flour based highly seasoned coating mix if you remember with that shake 'n bake after cooking the chicken you could take the drippings from the chicken and make the best gravy you can't do that with today's shake 'n bake. The original shake 'n bake did not have bread crumbs or corn flakes in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Just roughly measured the ingredients. I used herb-seasoned stuffing mix and pure (not extra virgin) olive oil. It is the addition of the oil that is key to the meat's success, ensuring that it will turn out crispy and golden. I used this mixture in the recipe for "Oven Fried Pork Chops," and it gave that coating the oil and extra seasoning I felt it needed. The two recipes were a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
LOVE THIS! I was so excited I found this. We love Shake 'N' Bake Chicken and this recipe is so much cheaper for more coating. I agree with other reviewers. I cut back on the salt and used powdered garlic, powdered onion, and Italian seasoning. This recipe is GREAT! It's also very versatile. I've used it on chicken, pork chops, fish, baked zucchini slices and other veggies. I want to try it using cornbread crumbs sometime in the future. THANKS to the person who came up with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I did modify somewhat as I try to keep as much salt out of our diet as I can. I also am very frugal. Waste not, want not! LOL I save up lefover portions of baguettes, hotdog and burger buns, thinini, partial loaves of bread too. They get used in stuffing usually but this time, I made my four cups of breadcrumbs. From now on when they build up in the freezer, I will regularly make them into breadcrumbs when I have about 4 cups worth. I dried them out and made my own breadcrumbs. Doing this will make each recipe differant as this time I had red pepper thinini in the mix LOL I used a pinch of salt, celery seed instead of celery salt, no garlic salt, 3 cloves of garlic 1/2 a small onion and left the rest the same. I ran the garlic and onion in my magic bullet first. FANTASTIC! I did use too much with my pork chops, and had to throw out about a cup, so be careful as this goes far. I tossed the rest in a freezer bag in the freezer for next weeks chicken. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious! I used half the mix and froze the other half for later. Will definitely use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genevieve Schiller
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used an entire packet of saltines and 1 cup of PC Italian Breadcrumbs for the mixture. I also substituted celery seed for celery salt due to the salt already in the crackers. I wet the chicken legs and placed them into the mixture and hand-coated before transferring to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I baked in a preheated oven at 400 degrees for 35 mins. It was crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. My 4 and 5 yr old boys had two pieces each. (see photo #3)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Schiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe is Superb! The whole family loved it! My husband loves the bought "Shake 'n Bake" but from now on this homemade mixture is THE Shake 'n Bake for us! One more note... at dinner table we kept discussing how delicious the pork chops were and how devine the homemade shake and bake mixture was. My husband said, "Well, you know this is the shake and bake mixture we're using from now on." Yup, this is it... and the neat thing also was that we had no leftovers. Yay! Thanks for having this recipe available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States