Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Genevieve
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used an entire packet of saltines and 1 cup of PC Italian Breadcrumbs for the mixture. I also substituted celery seed for celery salt due to the salt already in the crackers. I wet the chicken legs and placed them into the mixture and hand-coated before transferring to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I baked in a preheated oven at 400 degrees for 35 mins. It was crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. My 4 and 5 yr old boys had two pieces each. (see photo #3)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe is Superb! The whole family loved it! My husband loves the bought "Shake 'n Bake" but from now on this homemade mixture is THE Shake 'n Bake for us! One more note... at dinner table we kept discussing how delicious the pork chops were and how devine the homemade shake and bake mixture was. My husband said, "Well, you know this is the shake and bake mixture we're using from now on." Yup, this is it... and the neat thing also was that we had no leftovers. Yay! Thanks for having this recipe available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I joined just to rate this (but I should have joined years ago). I have made this just as written many times and my husband loves it! It's so much less expensive and better tasting than the commercial brand. To those who worried about throwing away the excess: just freeze it! I make a very large batch and keep it in the freezer. I take out just what I need (it won't freeze solid). I like to use this on bone-in chicken so I cook it at 350 degrees for about an hour (and I write that on the Ziplock bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingersnap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I used 1tsp of garlic powder instead of the garlic salt and minced. I also substituted onion powder for minced and it was great. My husband said it was better than the store bought version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Kid tested, verry yummy! I omitted the salt since there was enough salt already in the recipe, tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My son, who is not a big chicken eater, is giving you 5 stars on this one. My only caution is I ended up throwing a lot of this away both times I made it because of excess. The last time I cut the servings down to 4 and it was still too much for 4 large chicken breasts. I'm cutting it down to 2 next time. Easy problem to fix! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QB's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't use the celery salt and garlic salt (just use powders instead) so I needed more salt. Tasty though! I mixed 1/2 cup squash puree with an egg to coat the chicken then dipped in the shake and bake! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A little too salty, but was still very good. I will cut back on the salt next time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Used this as the coating for our chicken tenders tonight. Only difference was to substitute garlic powder for the garlic salt. My daughter asked if we were eating "Shake and Bake". Made this with the "cajun spicy potato wedges". We will keep this one in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This worked perfectly. I would, however, recommend leaving out the tablespoon of salt. The celery and garlic salts add plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States