Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I did modify somewhat as I try to keep as much salt out of our diet as I can. I also am very frugal. Waste not, want not! LOL I save up lefover portions of baguettes, hotdog and burger buns, thinini, partial loaves of bread too. They get used in stuffing usually but this time, I made my four cups of breadcrumbs. From now on when they build up in the freezer, I will regularly make them into breadcrumbs when I have about 4 cups worth. I dried them out and made my own breadcrumbs. Doing this will make each recipe differant as this time I had red pepper thinini in the mix LOL I used a pinch of salt, celery seed instead of celery salt, no garlic salt, 3 cloves of garlic 1/2 a small onion and left the rest the same. I ran the garlic and onion in my magic bullet first. FANTASTIC! I did use too much with my pork chops, and had to throw out about a cup, so be careful as this goes far. I tossed the rest in a freezer bag in the freezer for next weeks chicken. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious! I used half the mix and froze the other half for later. Will definitely use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genevieve
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used an entire packet of saltines and 1 cup of PC Italian Breadcrumbs for the mixture. I also substituted celery seed for celery salt due to the salt already in the crackers. I wet the chicken legs and placed them into the mixture and hand-coated before transferring to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I baked in a preheated oven at 400 degrees for 35 mins. It was crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. My 4 and 5 yr old boys had two pieces each. (see photo #3)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe is Superb! The whole family loved it! My husband loves the bought "Shake 'n Bake" but from now on this homemade mixture is THE Shake 'n Bake for us! One more note... at dinner table we kept discussing how delicious the pork chops were and how devine the homemade shake and bake mixture was. My husband said, "Well, you know this is the shake and bake mixture we're using from now on." Yup, this is it... and the neat thing also was that we had no leftovers. Yay! Thanks for having this recipe available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I joined just to rate this (but I should have joined years ago). I have made this just as written many times and my husband loves it! It's so much less expensive and better tasting than the commercial brand. To those who worried about throwing away the excess: just freeze it! I make a very large batch and keep it in the freezer. I take out just what I need (it won't freeze solid). I like to use this on bone-in chicken so I cook it at 350 degrees for about an hour (and I write that on the Ziplock bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingersnap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I used 1tsp of garlic powder instead of the garlic salt and minced. I also substituted onion powder for minced and it was great. My husband said it was better than the store bought version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Kid tested, verry yummy! I omitted the salt since there was enough salt already in the recipe, tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My son, who is not a big chicken eater, is giving you 5 stars on this one. My only caution is I ended up throwing a lot of this away both times I made it because of excess. The last time I cut the servings down to 4 and it was still too much for 4 large chicken breasts. I'm cutting it down to 2 next time. Easy problem to fix! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QB's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't use the celery salt and garlic salt (just use powders instead) so I needed more salt. Tasty though! I mixed 1/2 cup squash puree with an egg to coat the chicken then dipped in the shake and bake! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A little too salty, but was still very good. I will cut back on the salt next time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States