Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
"Incredible" was the consensus. I halved all of the ingredients and was able to fully coat 6, 5oz chops. I omitted the 1tbs of salt, added red pepper, chili powder, and used panko crumbs. I cooked it in a skillet with a pat of butter in the oven @ 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. Wonderful recipe, so excited to have found this .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was delicious! The changes I made was to use Panko instead of bread crumbs and I marinaded the breasts in peppercorn ranch dressing. This really helped the panko stick to it . It was moist and delicious, Very flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sthein

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was AWESOME! I had defrosted 6 large chops & didn't have enough boxed Shake & Bake to make the dinner I'd been craving. This was just the fix!! I made 1/2 the recipe and omitted the salt until the end. I wanted all the specific salts/seasoning combinations & then figured I would adjust the salt later. It actually DID taste too salty when I went ahead and added the whole adjusted measure into the mix. So much so that I actually added in another cup of crumbs (but added nothing else in terms of spices or oil). Honestly, once baked on the meat, it was definitely not as salty as I'd feared and I almost regretted the extra crumbs I'd thrown in. I do recommend that you stick to the herb salts (celery, garlic etc) and then adjust your salt by lessening the table salt. If you insist on celery seed, I suggest you GRIND it because it will not have the exact same punch if left as whole seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made a half recipe of this. I omitted the additional salt and used Beau Monde seasoning instead of celery salt because that was all I had on hand. Looking at the bread crumbs, I didn't think there was enough seasoning so I threw in more. A half recipe covered eight large-ish chicken legs. Great fill in for the commercially made coating but with less by products. Thumbs up from the family, I'll make this again with the increased spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is really awesome! Glad I took the time to prepare this from scratch rather than buying the box. I used panko crumbs and didn't use any of the "salts" but granulated garlic and a small amount of celery seed instead. I did use the regular salt in the amount indicated tho. There was so much flavor. My family raved about it! I cooked bone-in pieces at 400 degrees for about an hour. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great. I read other reviews that said it was salty so I used celery seed instead of celery salt - it was ok. It didn't taste too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yum!! 'Nuff said! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I reduced anything by half and left out the celery salt, I'm allergic. This tasted wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Sietsma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very nice. I was surprised to find that there was just a hint of a bite. Pleasantly surprised. I halved the recipe and it was plenty of mix to coat enough chicken tenders for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Unfortunately the shake 'n bake recipe here is not the original chicken recipe of 1965 that was a flour based highly seasoned coating mix if you remember with that shake 'n bake after cooking the chicken you could take the drippings from the chicken and make the best gravy you can't do that with today's shake 'n bake. The original shake 'n bake did not have bread crumbs or corn flakes in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States