Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is really awesome! Glad I took the time to prepare this from scratch rather than buying the box. I used panko crumbs and didn't use any of the "salts" but granulated garlic and a small amount of celery seed instead. I did use the regular salt in the amount indicated tho. There was so much flavor. My family raved about it! I cooked bone-in pieces at 400 degrees for about an hour. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great. I read other reviews that said it was salty so I used celery seed instead of celery salt - it was ok. It didn't taste too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yum!! 'Nuff said! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I reduced anything by half and left out the celery salt, I'm allergic. This tasted wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Waltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very nice. I was surprised to find that there was just a hint of a bite. Pleasantly surprised. I halved the recipe and it was plenty of mix to coat enough chicken tenders for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Unfortunately the shake 'n bake recipe here is not the original chicken recipe of 1965 that was a flour based highly seasoned coating mix if you remember with that shake 'n bake after cooking the chicken you could take the drippings from the chicken and make the best gravy you can't do that with today's shake 'n bake. The original shake 'n bake did not have bread crumbs or corn flakes in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Just roughly measured the ingredients. I used herb-seasoned stuffing mix and pure (not extra virgin) olive oil. It is the addition of the oil that is key to the meat's success, ensuring that it will turn out crispy and golden. I used this mixture in the recipe for "Oven Fried Pork Chops," and it gave that coating the oil and extra seasoning I felt it needed. The two recipes were a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
LOVE THIS! I was so excited I found this. We love Shake 'N' Bake Chicken and this recipe is so much cheaper for more coating. I agree with other reviewers. I cut back on the salt and used powdered garlic, powdered onion, and Italian seasoning. This recipe is GREAT! It's also very versatile. I've used it on chicken, pork chops, fish, baked zucchini slices and other veggies. I want to try it using cornbread crumbs sometime in the future. THANKS to the person who came up with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I did modify somewhat as I try to keep as much salt out of our diet as I can. I also am very frugal. Waste not, want not! LOL I save up lefover portions of baguettes, hotdog and burger buns, thinini, partial loaves of bread too. They get used in stuffing usually but this time, I made my four cups of breadcrumbs. From now on when they build up in the freezer, I will regularly make them into breadcrumbs when I have about 4 cups worth. I dried them out and made my own breadcrumbs. Doing this will make each recipe differant as this time I had red pepper thinini in the mix LOL I used a pinch of salt, celery seed instead of celery salt, no garlic salt, 3 cloves of garlic 1/2 a small onion and left the rest the same. I ran the garlic and onion in my magic bullet first. FANTASTIC! I did use too much with my pork chops, and had to throw out about a cup, so be careful as this goes far. I tossed the rest in a freezer bag in the freezer for next weeks chicken. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious! I used half the mix and froze the other half for later. Will definitely use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States