Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Nice...found the KFC secret ....tasted the same. Kids thought I bought KFC. MAde with coleslaw and baked french fries. So good. Will never buy KFC again :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Awesome recipe and made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
The family liked this. Great home-made copy cat recipe. I made a whole batch and mixed it all in my food processor. (I make my own bread crumbs from left over ends and such.) I omitted the vegetable oil completely. Didn't have celery salt, so used a little celery seed. I cut up two whole chicken breasts into pieces roughly 4" x 2" and just rolled the pieces in the mix. The mix stuck to the chicken juices. I ended up using about 1/2 the mix, so I am freezing the left-over crumb mix; I never contaminated it since I expected extra. I baked at 400 deg F for about 20-30 minutes. The bottom of the chicken pieces were soggy, so next time I'll elevate them on a rack or use a broiler pan so hopefully the bottom crumbs will crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Cut back the salt drastically, and used only garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRETCHAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
5+ stars! absolutely delicious! I know I'm not writing anything more than what others have written, but the chicken was perfectly tender and the flavor so delicious - everyone loved it! It makes a lot too so I refridgerated the excess, I probably used 1/4 of it for 5 chicken breasts. I followed the recipe closely, the only change I made was to swap garlic powder for the garlic salt. It was great and we'll have this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was amazing! Tasted even better than the boxed stuff. I had to substitute onion powder because I didn't have minced onion and it was still very good. Hubby loved it too! l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great taste... maybe a little less salt the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
"Incredible" was the consensus. I halved all of the ingredients and was able to fully coat 6, 5oz chops. I omitted the 1tbs of salt, added red pepper, chili powder, and used panko crumbs. I cooked it in a skillet with a pat of butter in the oven @ 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. Wonderful recipe, so excited to have found this .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was delicious! The changes I made was to use Panko instead of bread crumbs and I marinaded the breasts in peppercorn ranch dressing. This really helped the panko stick to it . It was moist and delicious, Very flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sthein

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was AWESOME! I had defrosted 6 large chops & didn't have enough boxed Shake & Bake to make the dinner I'd been craving. This was just the fix!! I made 1/2 the recipe and omitted the salt until the end. I wanted all the specific salts/seasoning combinations & then figured I would adjust the salt later. It actually DID taste too salty when I went ahead and added the whole adjusted measure into the mix. So much so that I actually added in another cup of crumbs (but added nothing else in terms of spices or oil). Honestly, once baked on the meat, it was definitely not as salty as I'd feared and I almost regretted the extra crumbs I'd thrown in. I do recommend that you stick to the herb salts (celery, garlic etc) and then adjust your salt by lessening the table salt. If you insist on celery seed, I suggest you GRIND it because it will not have the exact same punch if left as whole seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States