Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This has completely replaced Shake and Bake in my house! I use it mostly for drumsticks. I do significantly decrease the amounts given as for 5 drumsticks it makes way too much. I sometimes just use whatever spices I feel like adding and I have never added a tablespoon of salt to this or most other recipes so I cannot comment on the saltiness as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I used this on a whim on plain chicken breasts. It was easy to make and was delicious. I cut the recipe in half and still had LOTS left over. I could probably cut this into fourths to cook two chicken breasts cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a perfect hit with my husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I scaled this recipe down and didn't measure but I know I didn't use the whol amount of salt or celery salt and subbed garlic powder for the salt and dried onion. Also added a little mustard powder. I've never made shake n bake before so I don't know how you're supposed to use it but I dipped chicken strips in egg then the crumb mixture and baked on an ungreased sheet at 400 for 20 minutes withouth flipping. They were crispy and crunchy and perfect for our breaded chicken wraps with ranch, fries and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Made this on the fly for the kids' lunch today and it was a big hit! It was simple and quick to prepare and there were no leftovers! Love finding homemade alternatives for their favorites, since it's cost-effective and much healthier with all the gmo issues etc. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Friends and family gave this a thumbs up for flavor. I only had enough shake and bake for half of the chicken so I tossed this together leaving out the minced onion and basil (I was out). The result was equal to the shake and bake flavored chicken. Thanks Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This is so good and soo easy! I cut out the salt and made my own bread crumbs. I saved time and money and made my family want seconds! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Too much salt for hypertention! high blood pressure , but it sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
this is an excellent recipe. My family absolutely loved it and it was so easy to bring together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Nice...found the KFC secret ....tasted the same. Kids thought I bought KFC. MAde with coleslaw and baked french fries. So good. Will never buy KFC again :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States