Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made a few adjustments to this pretty good basic recipe. After adding salt and celery salt, I decided to substitute garlic salt for garlic powder. I also added a dash of onion powder. Since it called for basil and oregano I substituted crushed Italian seasoning. :) thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
It tastes just as good as anything I've tried for breading. I used it on pork chops, bone in, 3/4 inch thick. I baked in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 min each side (check temp - may need more or less time). At first I wasn't sure about putting the oil in the bag with the seasoning but it coated the meat perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Good ideas. I like wheatgerm too. Most bread crumbs have Partially hydrogenated oils. Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was good. I used melted butter in lieu of vegetable oil; trying to stay organic/non gmo and keep away from processed foods. I made about 12 drumsticks, and I cut the serving size from 8, all the way down to 2, and I still had quite a bit left over. Also left out the celery salt, just because I didn't have it, and used onion power instead of minced onion. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Went to the pantry only to find I was out of Shake and Bake. Tried this recipe and it was a big hit. The kids said they like it better than Shake and Bake. I used it on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was awesome,I too cut out the salt used hot paprika and panko bread crumbs for extra crunch,i will keep using this as a base but will experiment with different seasonings. Thank you for the recipe. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is awesome! I'm someone who hates shake and bake,but this was omg delicious! I didn't have any celery or garlic salt,so cut those out. I used garlic powder,and onion powder in place. I made this last week for the first time,and we're having it again this week! It's super easy and I just can't say enough on how I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe kept the chicken moist, which was nice...but honestly it didn't have any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Much less greasy than the stuff that comes out of the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is good but as others have said, too much salt. I cut back the salt, used celery seed, dehydrated onion and garlic powder and it was delicious. I have lots left over in the fridge, can't wait to try it on something other than chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States