Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was really good. My only complaint is that the celery salt was a bit too prominent for my taste. I forgot to add the oil before coating the chicken so I sprayed the chicken pieces with Olive Oil spray prior to cooking. That seemed to work just fine. They browned up nicely. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Instead of store bought bread crumbs I dried and made my own. I used the recipe as written and my family absolutely loved it. We are going to try it with pork and fish as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I wanted to try this recipe as I like shake and bake, but husband doesn't. I made a few adjustments, because I didn't have all the spices. I used celery seed instead of celery salt, powdered garlic instead of minced garlic, and powdered onion instead of minced. I think the amount of servings must mean the equivalent amount of envelopes of S & B! I had a lot left over! Enough to use several more times! I baked chicken legs and thighs for 45 minutes at 400 degrees, turning about halfway through the cooking time. Husband liked it, kid loved it! It had a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Have only used this for Chicken Breasts so far - excellent! am going to try it on Fish and Pork Chops. I love the fact that there are no unpronouncable chemicals in it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Better than the store bought kind - I make it as written and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Love this, make it in big batches and store it in the freezer. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lake Tahoe, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carson Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. I had a box of stuff that I didn't realize had egg in it, and my son is allergic. So I came here and found this recipe. My only changes were using fresh bread to make my own bread crumbs, because I didn't have any. And I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Eames Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! Way better than anything you can buy in a box. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't have all ingredients (missing celery salt, and opted out of adding oil) so I can't comment on the recipe as a whole. What I can say that even without those two above ingredients, it was tasty. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Absolutely the best. I do not add the salt, as we do not use it anymore. I use more garlic or onion and any other herb or spice that I have. Each time it is different, but always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I halved the recipe, made 2 cups of my own whole wheat bread crumbs - toasted 5-6 slices of bread, cooled, then put in processor to make crumbs. I used olive oil in this recipe, skipped the minced onion and garlic and added a half tsp. garlic powder instead. Baked 7 bone in chicken thighs at 400 degrees for about 50 min. It is amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States