Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, and it still makes a ton. Next time I'll make the full recipe and divide it up to freeze for other times. I used celery seed, garlic powder and onion powder instead of the salt blends. Also used a few pinches of Italian seasoning instead of the basil, parsley and oregano as I didn't have any left. Let the salt amount the same. Cooked chicken legs/thighs on 400F for 50 minutes on a rack over a baking sheet to drain away fat. Crispy, delicious and better than the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Tasted just like store bought! I will never buy Shake and Bake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is amazing! My family loved it. I used it on a package of inexpensive chicken thighs and they were delicious. I can't wait to try it on boneless, skinless chicken breasts. It was so moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe was okay. We prefer the Easy Shake and Bake recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was awesome for chicken breast tenders. I didn't have any bread crumbs, so I used ritz cracker crumbs. Since I used the crackers, I decided to cut back the salt a little and it was perfect. The spices just go really well together. I baked it at 400 for about 25 minutes and the chicken was juicy and delicious! Served w/ mashed potatoes and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveedawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Du Quoin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe! Usually I can't figure out what spice combination to make with my chicken and this is by far my favorite. This will make it into my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Really good! Makes a lot so either cut the servings or put some in a bag in the fridge. I wish I had made all of it so I could save it! I cut it in half and we found it just a little salty, but still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann Roetto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spyce
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Great alternative to the box mix. I used it on pork chops. The recipe makes a lot so keep that in mind before making it. I halved the recipe and used about a cup or so for 6 chops. I stored the unused portion in the fridge. I only used a teaspoon of Kosher salt, and used garlic powder and ground celery seeds in place of the salt versions. For the herbs, my idea of a pinch was 1/4 teaspoon of each (for the halved recipe). I'm thinking about grinding up Corn Flakes and using that for the bread crumbs when I mix up the next batch. There's a lot of different flavor combinations that can be made with this recipe by changing the herbs or type of bread crumbs used. That's a plus to help keep meals interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was a great recipe and easy. My Chicken Parmesan was a smash hit with everyone. They all wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I reduced the salt in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States