Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was awesome for chicken breast tenders. I didn't have any bread crumbs, so I used ritz cracker crumbs. Since I used the crackers, I decided to cut back the salt a little and it was perfect. The spices just go really well together. I baked it at 400 for about 25 minutes and the chicken was juicy and delicious! Served w/ mashed potatoes and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveedawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Du Quoin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe! Usually I can't figure out what spice combination to make with my chicken and this is by far my favorite. This will make it into my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Really good! Makes a lot so either cut the servings or put some in a bag in the fridge. I wish I had made all of it so I could save it! I cut it in half and we found it just a little salty, but still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann Roetto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spyce
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Great alternative to the box mix. I used it on pork chops. The recipe makes a lot so keep that in mind before making it. I halved the recipe and used about a cup or so for 6 chops. I stored the unused portion in the fridge. I only used a teaspoon of Kosher salt, and used garlic powder and ground celery seeds in place of the salt versions. For the herbs, my idea of a pinch was 1/4 teaspoon of each (for the halved recipe). I'm thinking about grinding up Corn Flakes and using that for the bread crumbs when I mix up the next batch. There's a lot of different flavor combinations that can be made with this recipe by changing the herbs or type of bread crumbs used. That's a plus to help keep meals interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was a great recipe and easy. My Chicken Parmesan was a smash hit with everyone. They all wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I reduced the salt in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I used this with thin cut pork chops. I scaled the recipe back to half and still had lots left when I was finished. The taste is wonderful. Youngest daughter said this is the best, best, best recipe ever. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I've used it for chicken, pork chops, breaded zucchini, etc. The recipe makes quite a bit and (since I make my own dried bread crumbs from left-over bread) it costs very little to make. The purchased product costs $2.50 per box so this is quite a welcome addition to my recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this recipe cut down to serve four. I also used celery seed instead of celery salt, and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. It was still a little too salty for me, but very good. A friend actually likes salty things and thought it was perfect. I'll leave 3/4 of the salt out next time. I used mine on chicken tenders, baked at 350F until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very easy and healthier than the store brand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States