Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This worked perfectly. I would, however, recommend leaving out the tablespoon of salt. The celery and garlic salts add plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Extremely salty!! I may try it again and omit the salt completely and decrease the pepper. We had to scrape the crust off just to eat it. A waste of a good pork chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was concerned when I tried it before baking as it seemed very bland but once baked it was amazing. My husband and children couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this with the ingredients I had on hand: onion, garlic powders, season salt and paprika and my family loved it. So easy and good, I will never buy shake n bake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
excellent...NO need for store bought anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was great! I will add a little less salt next time and I didn't use the oil. I just shaked chicken thighs in the mixture and baked and added some Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe was a good starting point, but calls for way way way way toooo much salt! I made a small batch of this - it was enough to cover two leg quarters, two breasts, and two tender loins. 4 slices bread - bake at 283 for 25 minutes till completely dry and lightly brown. Break up and put in food processor till all fine crumbs. This made a little more than one cup of crumbs for me. 1/4 tsp salt 1/4 tsp paprika 1/4 tsp celery Seeds 1/4 tsp ground pepper 1/4 tsp garlic granules 1/4 tsp onion powder dash basil dash oregano add all ingredients and process again till combined. Place in large bag. Add one piece of chicken at a time and shake till covered. Bake chicken pieces on greased cookie sheet for about 40 minutes at 375 degrees. Check temperature with internal thermometer and make sure it's at lease 165 degrees. Yum! We had cheese topped broccoli and rice on the side. Double yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, and it still makes a ton. Next time I'll make the full recipe and divide it up to freeze for other times. I used celery seed, garlic powder and onion powder instead of the salt blends. Also used a few pinches of Italian seasoning instead of the basil, parsley and oregano as I didn't have any left. Let the salt amount the same. Cooked chicken legs/thighs on 400F for 50 minutes on a rack over a baking sheet to drain away fat. Crispy, delicious and better than the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Tasted just like store bought! I will never buy Shake and Bake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is amazing! My family loved it. I used it on a package of inexpensive chicken thighs and they were delicious. I can't wait to try it on boneless, skinless chicken breasts. It was so moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States