Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I prepare it without the oil and substitute it for breadcrumb coating on various chicken dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
My daughter loves when I use this. I added some lemon pepper. I omitted the salt and I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I freeze the leftover mixture for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have a confession...I Love this recipe!! I have a box of store-bought "coating mix" in my cabinet (that someone else bought). I threw the packs away and kept the bags for shaking THIS recipe on my chicken legs. I have used this recipe several times and my very picky girls ask for "crunchy chicken legs" every week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I followed the recipe as written except cut back on the salt from 1 tablespoon to 1/2 teaspoon. After everything was mixed together I tasted it before I coated my chicken and still it was like eating a mouthful of salt. It may be palatable if you cut out all the salt including the garlic salt & celery salt, but I threw the whole batch out rather than ruining my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I liked this, but I can't get my breadcrumbs crispy. I tried it on pork chops, and maybe that's my problem. Must try again on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I thought it was very good. I didn't add the TBS of salt and substituted onion powder and garlic powder for the minced. I also left out the oil and it was really good. Thanks. I will not buy shakenbake anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We made this last night on drumsticks and they came out so good we're making it again tonight with thighs. Only things we changed were we used PANKO bread crumbs instead of regular, garlic powder in place of garlic salt, celery seed in place of celery salt, and a bit more kosher salt to make up the difference. Also added a couple dashes of cayenne for a teeny kick. The panko is so much more crispy and delicious and doesn't get sticky or soggy at all, try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Used this for bone-in pork chops even though AR lists as homemade shake and bake for chicken...I will use this again for pork and will try if for chicken as well. Recipe would make a ton of this, so I reduced to 2 servings, which still made a lot of topping. Jack and I liked the results which I baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes (thin chops).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe and I followed it all except that I did not add the vegetable oil instead I brushed olive oil on the chicken drumsticks before coating and I also added a teaspoon of newfie savory to the mix to give it a little added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States