Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I thought it was very good. I didn't add the TBS of salt and substituted onion powder and garlic powder for the minced. I also left out the oil and it was really good. Thanks. I will not buy shakenbake anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We made this last night on drumsticks and they came out so good we're making it again tonight with thighs. Only things we changed were we used PANKO bread crumbs instead of regular, garlic powder in place of garlic salt, celery seed in place of celery salt, and a bit more kosher salt to make up the difference. Also added a couple dashes of cayenne for a teeny kick. The panko is so much more crispy and delicious and doesn't get sticky or soggy at all, try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Used this for bone-in pork chops even though AR lists as homemade shake and bake for chicken...I will use this again for pork and will try if for chicken as well. Recipe would make a ton of this, so I reduced to 2 servings, which still made a lot of topping. Jack and I liked the results which I baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes (thin chops).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe and I followed it all except that I did not add the vegetable oil instead I brushed olive oil on the chicken drumsticks before coating and I also added a teaspoon of newfie savory to the mix to give it a little added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is delicious!!! And it's so very forgiving. You can use whatever you have or like. I followed the recipe almost as written, I cut the salt to 1 tsp. and used Italian flavored breadcrumbs, because that's what I had. I made the full batch and it took about a cup for an 8 piece chicken. I threw the rest in a bag in the freezer. What a nice thing to have on hand and so inexpensive compared to store bought. Probably better for you, too. I dredged the chicken in egg before coating with mix. YUM and thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We wanted to cook American-style pork chops for our friends in China, so I used this recipe to make the coating. Our friends loved it so much they were eating the leftover crumbs from the pan! I had to make the breadcrumbs myself by baking several slices of bread and then grinding them in the food processor; I think this made the coating even better. I made half a recipe and it was enough to do two batches of pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was just a bunch of mush, and the flavor wasn't exciting at all. Will not be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Way too salty! Made again with maybe a teaspoon instead of a tablespoon of salt it would probably be good. I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe is wonderful except the salt! I read the reviews and took the advice of others, omitting and substituting where I could. The taste is spot on to the boxed mix and I love that I control the sodium. I halved the recipe and it made enough for 5 chops and enough leftover for another meal. I want to try adding some parm cheese for chicken or maybe some curry and cayenne for a change! It seems versatile and it costs relatively little in comparison to its boxed mentor! It's five star without the salt! Thank you Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I didn't have a lot of the spices on hand so I had to improvise a little but it was still incredible! No more store bought for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Halbig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States