Homemade Root Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I rated this 2 stars for 2 reasons, 1 is that the mesurement of the extract is subject to the brand used, some extracts like the brand HOMEBREW only use 4 tablespoons for 4 to 5 gallons water, and the 2nd is for the personal reason that extract = cheat, no knocks intended there just a personal thing, but you may want to tell us want brand to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
It was ok, we made only 1 GAL of root beer. We cut back the amount of root beer recipe called for still a bit strong. We served it with homemade ice cream and was very good, but remember root beer will not be carbonated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
We use to make root beer this way when I was a kid. Brings back memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Hi this is Lesa the submitter of this recipe. There was a typo on the amount of extract to use. I use 1 bottle (I think 2 ounces) of schilling rootbeer extract. I can only imagine how awful this is with a full cup. Sry all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
We have updated this recipe to include the correct amount of rootbeer extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
MADE THIS FOR 4TH OF JULY. IT WAS A HIT. THE KIDS LOVES WATCHING THE DRY ICE SMOKE AND BUBBLE. THE ADULTS LOVED THE TASTE. I USED McCORMICK FLAVORING BUT INCREASED THE AMOUNT, FROM 2 OUNCES TO ABOUT 3 OUNCES. I BOILED 1 GALLON OF WATER, 6 CUPS OF SUGAR, COOLED,WHEN READY TO SERVE ADDED 1 GALLON CHILLED SELTZER WATER, 1 1/3 GALLON WATER, AND 5 POUNDS DRY ICE--NO SUBSTITUTE-- THE DRY ICE GIVES IT THE FIZZ AND THAT ICY TASTE-- WILL MAKE MORE NEXT TIME WE RAN OUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
We made this first for my son's Cub scout pack meeting. The kids thought it was great and the parents kept sneaking glasses of it too. Since the first time we made it it's now requested at all my kids birthday parties. We found the rootbeer extract at a local homebrewing supply store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
The best thing about making it with dry ice is the next morning when the kids can't stay away from the "rootbeer slush" that forms when the dry ice is all used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe. It tasted just like the kind my father makes at Halloween. I made it for a party and served it with ice cream for root beer floats :) yummy, delicious, outstanding, superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was a hit at a July 4th get together. I used a bit more dry ice but I had compliments from every age group on this root beer! Thank you! I used 1 ounce of Lorann's root beer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States