Homemade Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe! I followed the lead of another reviewer and added mustard and celery seed, and threw some dried hot peppers into the liquid. The sweet heat is amazingly addictive. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made a version of this recipe: striped my cucumbers & used 8 - 10 cups, added a tablespoon celery seed. EASY & SO DELICIOUS! Now my son wants me to add some heat, so I'm going to put some in a jar with a little red pepper. I'll let you know. For now they're very sweet, but I like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe. The pickles tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Excellent, Cut the sugar in half, made a tangy with a little bit of sweet pickle. Also added 1 TBS of pickling spice and one dry Thai pepper. Will be making more fo sho!!!! Use 2 quart jars, two lbs of cucumbers. Left out the green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
There's always some numbskull who deviates from the recipe, screws it up, and then gives it low marks. This one's a keeper - ignore the goofball who gave it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrDarin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I just made a batch. I've been eating the ones on top that didn't get under the juice (I doubled the juice) they are delicious. Anxious to try after they have soaked for a day or so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkermeen
Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I was very pleased with the outcome. I sliced, julienned and actually used an apple peeler on the cucumbers to vary their shapes. It all worked. Flavor was wonderful, even if it was a tad sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I have this recipe, but like to add more onions - they stay good and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Re garlic turning blue - that is not an unusual reaction with dill pickles - has something to do with the vinegar leeching some of the color out of the cucumbers which turns the garlic blue. It's completely harmless and doesn't affect flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States