Homemade Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
These pickles were great. My daughter loved them and ate a whole jar by herself. I found them very easy to make (first time making pickles). I made these last summer and just dug out the recipe to make them again. I am going to cut back on the sugar this time just because I don't like things as sweet as my daughter does, but I think the recipe is fine as it is and if you like sweet pickles, then you should be happy you made these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
our family ate a whole jar in one sitting!! we did follow the video and added the mustard seed and celery seed. delish. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Waltb31
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Love this recipe! I substituted Stevia for the sugar and only used one cup. I also used red and green peppers, red onions and a tablespoon of pickling spice. The pickles come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Thank you for this recipe,it is really good. I added jalapenos for an xtra kick. Easy recipe and sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Benavides

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I know taste is quite subjective, but these are just too sour and salty compared to other quick pickles. Cut the vinegar and salt down to 2/3 strength similar to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I've been following this recipe for a long time. It's so easy and delicious. Here's a few variations I make: add a lot of dill to the jar of cucumbers. Want to use less sugar? Add some baby carrots to sweeten or balance the sour of the vinegar. Want to make it spicy? Add some cayenne (just a little) or some hot peppers to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The recipe is easy and good. I think the pickles were a little sweeter than I wanted. I would probably add a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Simple and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
We like these pickles. I recommend packing the vegtables tightly into the jars, then adding the premixed liquid. The vegtables will shrink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Easy and delicious! I used 3 cucumbers, 1 whole onion, and 1 whole green pepper, which meant I had more veggies than brine, so next time, I'll probably double the vinegar/salt/sugar amounts. I filled three pickle jars and only had a little left over (little enough for a guilt-free snack!). QUESTION: what is up with the "sterile containers"? I gathered pickle jars I'd been saving (and which had been through the dishwasher once) along with a pickle jar I just pulled from the fridge (dumping the existing pickles into Tupperware). Is that generally all right to do? Seems so, but I've never followed a recipe which required "sterile containers" before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States