Homemade Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
The brine doesn't cover the cucumbers right after making them. We'll see what they lookl Ike tomorrow?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Super easy and very tasty. As others did I reduced the sugar, using 1 1/2 cups. I added the T of mustard seed and t of celery seed before boiling. The liquid was the right amount as after sitting in the bowl for an hour or so it was quite juicy. I found it makes about 4 pints (if they last long enough to get in the jars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I found this pickle recipe last summer and made it many times using home-grown cucumbers, to rave reviews. It is incredibly simple, and the pickles taste great. I shared the recipe countless times. If you are looking for a foolproof, simple recipe, you just found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Quick, easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Tried this for the first time since I have such an overload of cucumbers in my garden. This was awesome and super easy! I added banana peppers so the mixture just to add my own taste to it. Will make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
We love these! They are definitely sweet but enjoyed by my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
A good starting point. Based on other reviews, I cut the sugar back by more than half and skipped the peppers. Will play around with it more next time. I will make thicker slices of cuke, add some spices, and cut out the sugar entirely. I really want a cukey, half sour pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Easy and delicious as is and even better few some jalapeñoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I rated these 4 stars because I made some modifications. I added 1 tbsp of mustard seed, 1 tsp of celery seed, and 1 tsp of turmeric (to make them bread and butter pickles). Also, not mentioned in the recipe but very important, if your brine doesn't cover your cucumbers, don't add extra water. The cucumbers will release water into the brine and then it will cover them. If this is your first time making pickles, here are a few notes so you can avoid the mistakes I made: 1. Don't use white onion, it's too strong. Use sweet or vidalia onions. 2. Slice the onion and green pepper into strips, don't dice them. If you dice them the flavour is too strong. 3. Cucumber sliced thinly (1/8-1/4 inch) will pickle in 1-2 days, and will stay crisp for 3-5 days. Cucumber sliced thickly (3/8-1/2 inch) will pickle in 3-4 days, and will stay crisp for a week or more. So if you want pickles now and later, do a jar of each. 4. If you use this brine to pickle other things (I did cauliflower, green peppers and asparagus) you need to use more brine on those vegetables than you did on the cucumber. I added water to the brine thinking that when I made cucumber pickles, they released water which added the extra liquid to the brine. That didn't work. You need to cover the almost completely, then finish with water, to make a strong enough brine for other vegetables. Steaming the vegetables first might help too, I haven't tried that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States