Homemade Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
absolutely delicious! soo quick and easy i added a little crushed red pepper to the boiling mixture to give it a little kick. i also couldn't find a glass jar, so ended up using a Tupperware container and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SourXPCandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
As written this was entirely too sweet and I like sweet pickles. 4 stars since I rate as written. So the second time around I cut the sugar in half and it was the sweetness I like. 5 stars (according to our taste) made this way. I have also added onions and some hot chile pepper and it tastes like the cucumber salad they serve at Thai Restaurants. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These are delicious! I was able to give a lot away and people raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made these today with the following substitutions: - One a half times the salt and vinegar - Added celery seed and dill weed - Used 1/2 cup green peppers and 1/2 cup yellow I think that it's helpful to know that I I had two long seedless cucumbers and four baby "pickle" cucumbers. I cut the little ones into spears and used my mandelin to slice the long ones. I only used TWO bell mason jars and was somehow able to shove all those pickles/peppers/onions in. I was REALLY nervous that I wouldn't have enough juice (even with the increasing the vinegar) but I had exactly enough liquid to fill right to the top! Next time I'm going to add mustard seed I just didn't have any - uggh. Anywho, these were really good and super easy! Although everyone in the house complained about the smell they all loved the taste when they were done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These were pretty good but way too sweet. Next time I would probably cut the sugar by half. I added some thai peppers and red pepper flakes which gave them a nice spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Delicious and EASY!!! Perfect for using up the few cucumbers I couldn't pickle and can. Thanks for sharing this great recipe; per other's advice, I also increased sugar/vinegar amounts as I also like more brine. Packed the cucumbers in quart jars, and after sitting over night they reduced to around a pint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munsonka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I am 67yrs. old and have done more then my share of canning different recipes. I have to tell you this is the best out there. If I could give more then 5 stars I would. I used a fork to grate the peeling to make it spriped. I chopped red and green peppers to make it colorful. I added 1 cup of peppers to each recipe. As for the onions, I cut the onion in half then sliced thinly. I one and a half timed the vinegar,salt and sugar. I added 1 t. celery seed and 1 t. mustard seed to each recipe. You won;t be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made these pickles, but when i canned them there wasn't any juice for all the jars. Isn't the juice suppose to cover up the pickles in all the jars. Anyways, I cover them with vinegar and added some sugar. I hope they will taste ok. I will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really good. I didn't use the onions or peppers, just the cukes, and I added a little pickling spice. Everyone wants the recipe that tastes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States