Homemade Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
We like these pickles. I recommend packing the vegtables tightly into the jars, then adding the premixed liquid. The vegtables will shrink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Easy and delicious! I used 3 cucumbers, 1 whole onion, and 1 whole green pepper, which meant I had more veggies than brine, so next time, I'll probably double the vinegar/salt/sugar amounts. I filled three pickle jars and only had a little left over (little enough for a guilt-free snack!). QUESTION: what is up with the "sterile containers"? I gathered pickle jars I'd been saving (and which had been through the dishwasher once) along with a pickle jar I just pulled from the fridge (dumping the existing pickles into Tupperware). Is that generally all right to do? Seems so, but I've never followed a recipe which required "sterile containers" before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have made this once before and was good. I decreased super to2/3 cup. May cut again. Did at mustard seed and celery. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Just made these and I love them! I used only 1 cup sugar because I thought 2 cups would be too sweet. I also added celery seasoning and left out the green pepper. Great way to use up the cucumbers from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I did modify mine quite bit. I pickles green tomatoes. I don't really like onions so, I added a whole garlic, some fresh dill, one sliced Jalapeno, and just one cup of sugar. They were tart, sweet, and had a kick, and super crunchy. I also left them in the back of my fridge for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
These pickles are habit forming! Soooo goood!! I peeled the mini cukes so they looked striped. Lovely. Added more sweet onion, red bell pepper because they are sweeter tasting, 2 cups of white vinegar and 1 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon celery seed, 1 teaspoon mustard seed, 1/2 teaspoon peppercorn melange and 1/2 teaspoon turmeric. I put them in 2 xtra large jars so they had room for the liquid that forms. Delicious! So easy to make! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OldKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Love these! And tonight I made it with zucchini instead of cucumbers; great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I loved the flavor - even after a day they were good - day 3 even better! easy and will be making another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
To the person that had blue garlic. If you want to add galic to one of these recipes you should boil the garlic with your brine for a short time. It will stop it from turning blue. Also it is safe to eat the blue garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made it just as it reads It turn out great. Even my daughter who not a pickle fan loves them. I used the slicing blade on my food prosier on pickles, green peppers and onions to get thin pieces. If you want to spice them up a little, add a teaspoon or so of chili flakes. This is my new pickle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Dominguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States