Homemade Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was pretty good but I made some revisions. I didn't have salt less herb blend or Italian seasoning so I opted for salt, pepper, thyme, parsley flakes and 4 cloves of garlic. I also eyeballed about 2 cups of pre cut broccoli into the crock when putting everything else in. I let cook on high for 5 hours ish then added half and half. I'm not sure how much, I eyeballed it. Probablly 1.5c. I know that sounds like a lot but I'm going for a creamier soup. I then thickened it with some corn starch as well. Added a final dash of salt, pepper and thyme to tAste and let thicken for a half hour. I served hot with Parmesan cheese on top. Oh yeah. I also used 3 carrots and 1 onion. :) will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a really yummy recipe, I used homemade chicken stock, added corn and used 2% milk instead of soy but those were my only alterations and it was delicious! I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Nice potato soup recipe. Used chicken broth instead of boullion/water, cream instead of soy milk, omittied broccoli and used mashed potato flakes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Campbell
Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I liked this recipe, especially because I was looking for something without cheese. I made a few changes that I thought made it better however. I used 2 vegetable bouillon cubes and 16oz water and 14.5oz can of chicken broth. I used 2% Milk instead of soymilk. I also added cornstarch at the very end to thicken it up. Lastly, I didn't add any seasoning at the beginning, I added parsley and italian seasoning at the end and I added white pepper that gave it a very nice home cooked meal flavor to complement the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was pretty good....I did make some changes. I omitted the celery and broccoli while adding some crushed red pepper flakes and bacon. This soup is very versatile. I think next time I will add flour to thicken it and red onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars, mostly due to the changes I made to mine. It was a good base recipe though. I used Russet potatoes, peeled & chopped. I omitted the carrot. I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic, chopped Omitted the Italian seasoning and used fresh black pepper instead I used skim milk instead of soy milk and I first made a roux with flour & butter. Also omitted the broccoli. OK, I made A LOT of changes. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It called for way to much spices, no one in the house would eat it myself included, so I definetly would not make this again or suggest it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent. Minimal changes; I don't typically measure seasonings in soup...I used 2% instead of soy milk...and I did not add broccoli, I was looking for a more traditional soup so I did add about six slices of browned and crumbled bacon (more for my man's tastes than mine I guess). Served with toast, super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This soup was wonderful !!! My 8 and 4 year old even ate it ! I made a bigger bath and added some button mushrooms ....it was so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I used Mrs. Dash for the non-salt seasoning and it was very strong. My kids were not real fond of it and I really wasn't either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States