Homemade Plain Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used this with my mom's SUPER easy method to keep it warm (which she got from a Lebanese friend). Stir the warm mixture, put in a thermos, seal and let it sit on the counter for 5-6 hours. This does make a runny yogurt, but you can strain it to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made mine by setting the filled and lidded quart jars on top of my upright freezer wrapped in a heavy bath towel. The temp there is just 103. By morning I had the most delicious yogurt waiting for breakfast .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimandDennis Bemis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Tweaked for no-strain Greek yogurt in microwave, cooler/heating pad, en mass!! 14 quarts (1 Q ea) whole milk, 10 1/2 cups (3/4 C ea) dry milk powder, 42 tablespoons (3 T ea) plain yogurt [I use Stoneyfield because it has 6 strains of active cultures!]. STERELIZE: 14 quart ball/mason jars/lids/rings, measuring cup 3/4, measuring spoon 1 tablespoon, funnel, and stirring spoon. MIX: Pour 1/2 quart milk & funnel in 3/4 cup dry milk powder in each jar stir well. Pour other 1/2 quart milk into each jar stir well. Cover jars w/ paper towels. HEAT: Equally space 4 four jars max and microwave for 20 minutes. Carefully remove & cover w/ paper towels on counter to cool. Repeat until all jars have been heated. COOL: While covered jars cool under 110F - line bottom/sides of clean/dry cooler with aluminum foil, place uncovered heating pad in bottom on low, cover with paper towel, let warm while finishing jars. INOCULATE: As jars reach 110F mix 3 tablespoons plain yogurt in each jar stir well, screw lids/rings tightly. Carefully place jars in cooler equally spaced, place aluminum foil on top, cover with folded towel, close cooler top on cord. SET: Place cooler in dry, calm indoor location, plug in set to low keep @ 110F-115F (45C). Check temp +/- 2 hours (if too hot unplug) re-cover DO NOT shake, stir or vibrate yogurt while setting!! Let set for 6-9 hours total. Then open cooler for about a hour. Place jars in fridge, keep cold good for 14 days. (I make twice a month) Enjoy! YumMama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great reminder. I used to make yogurt (using this recipe) all the time when I was in Nursing school...Used my apartments radiator and left it overnight. Great yogurt. added sugar, vanilla, etc before letting it set. Fruit preserves after for changes in flavor. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I have done this hundreds of times. I often use a wide mouth thermos for the incubation and it works quite well. For those who like a yogurt more like the store bought just put in a teaspoon of disolved gelatin in milk prior to incubating and you get a result that is similar to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So much easier than I thought! I am not much of a cook and was very intimidated by all of the temperature measuring, but it was really easy and very forgiving. I first tried it in a pan and a crock pot both and found the crock pot to be much easier. When the water got hot (but not too hot to put my finger in quickly), I switched it to warm. Temperature ranged from 100-150 in the pan and it still turned out great. 4 hours and I had my own homemade yogurt! I also added a tablespoon of agave nectar and a tsp. of vanilla to add a little flavor, and then threw some fresh blueberries on top - so good! Also, I was able to fit 9 mason half-pint canning jars in the crock pot, so I adjusted the recipe accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The receipe is great as it is. Another alternative-take 2 cups lukewarm milk(whole milk for creamy yoghurt) add 2 tsp store bought plain yoghurt.keep it overnight in a warm place. you'll have the yoghurt ready in the morning. i do it all the time.works very well especially in summers. i rarely buy yoghurt as in india that is how we make yoghurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This can be flavored by adding 2-3oz of your favorite coffee syrup just before incubating. I've tried flavoring with jellies, but the results can be inconsistent and watery. Also, for an extra creamy treat, try making your yogurt with half & half. Probably not the healthiest treat, but it sure is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great yogurt! I only used 3 TBsp of dry milk powder because I didnt want it to taste like dry milk. I also added 2TBsp of sugar. I have made this three times and it is always great. I incubate for 6 hours for great milld sweet yogurt it is nice and and thick too. I used White mountain yogurt as started and it worked the best. I used Fage 2% as starter second time and I went back to White Mountain for the third it was creamier both were very mild. I highly recommend. I used my crockpot filled with 115 degrees water and turned on to warm while I prepared yogurt then I turned it off and filled my jars. Then every 2 hours I just turned in on for 10 min on Warm to make sure it was at 110 degrees. works great who needs a yogurt maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very easy base recipe. It looks difficult but with an instant thermometer the process is made so simple. I used my slow cooker to maintain the warm water bath and the yogurt was ready in 4 hours. The process is long but very low maintenance so I was able to get school work done - I just had to take a minute periodically to check the water temperature. Thanks for sharing! As an aside: this recipe also makes a great start for something like cream cheese. Just add a few pinches of salt and pour it into a muslin cloth or cloth table napkin. Tie the top with a rubber band and let it drain over a bowl in the fridge for a couple days (use a strainer to keep the cloth out of the drained whey.) I ate my cream cheese on crackers and it tasted so clean and fresh! The drained whey I added in place of water to soup for added protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States