Homemade Pizza Sauce from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I apologize to anyone who's tried this and found it overly sweet and salty, which it is. This is the result of an error in my thinking process; initially, I was searching for something to give it that "bite," and thought the garlic salt would do the trick, and the sugar was to make that more palatable. This clearly didn't really work, but once it was established in my routine I stopped questioning it. Later a friend suggested adding vinegar for the bite, which did the trick, but I still didn't think to try toning down the garlic salt and the sugar. My suggestion now is to hold off on garlic salt and sugar until the end, and then add it to taste. You need less than a third of what I originally suggested, if I recall correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It's WAY too salty! Great start to a basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe is very very sweet. Too sweet for traditional pizza, but just right as a dipping sauce (for cheese breads, Italian breads, etc.). This sauce would work well for fruit based pizzas like pineapple or a sweet BBQ chicken pizza. The texture is wonderful. We found no need to blend the sauce a second time as it cooked into smoothness just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It was very sweet for a sauce, it was closer to a dip. I cut out all of the sugar and only used 1/2 the salt the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Sickeningly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I reduced the sugar some, and it still had a nice flavor. I also sprinkled some Italian seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
A nice way to use up an ubandance of romas this season. Used my food processor for the first step. Decided to cut back the sugar a tad and it was still a sweet sauce. After simmering I used my emersion blender for step three. Threw in some dried basil and oregano. I advise cutting back the sugar to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've tried this recipe in the past and my only complaint is that it is a little sweet. I'm going to try it again today and ex the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States