Homemade Pizza Sauce from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I have been making this for ages but with 1/2 the sugar and using coconut sugar instead its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My suggestion now is to hold off on garlic salt and sugar until the end, and then add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It's WAY too salty! Great start to a basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe is very very sweet. Too sweet for traditional pizza, but just right as a dipping sauce (for cheese breads, Italian breads, etc.). This sauce would work well for fruit based pizzas like pineapple or a sweet BBQ chicken pizza. The texture is wonderful. We found no need to blend the sauce a second time as it cooked into smoothness just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It was very sweet for a sauce, it was closer to a dip. I cut out all of the sugar and only used 1/2 the salt the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Sickeningly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I reduced the sugar some, and it still had a nice flavor. I also sprinkled some Italian seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
A nice way to use up an ubandance of romas this season. Used my food processor for the first step. Decided to cut back the sugar a tad and it was still a sweet sauce. After simmering I used my emersion blender for step three. Threw in some dried basil and oregano. I advise cutting back the sugar to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've tried this recipe in the past and my only complaint is that it is a little sweet. I'm going to try it again today and ex the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States