Homemade Pickled Ginger (Gari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
The recipe does not say whether to wash off the salt. I did not, and the ginger turned out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
It is nice to know how to make our own pickled ginger. I sliced the ginger thin when it was raw, then added it to the boiling vinegar mixture and simmered it for about 5 minutes. I then put it in to the jar, cooled it, and stored in the refridgerator. We used it the same day with our sushi...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Very good. Surprised at how easy this was, just hard to wait! To peel ginger, just use a regular spoon and the skin comes right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The pink color has nothing to do with the quality of your rice vinegar. Only very young ginger will turn pink during the pickling process. The ginger root you buy at your supermarket is not young ginger. I doubt if any companies are using coloring to create the pink color, unless it is really cheap ginger. Any Japanese-made pickled gingr will be young ginger. If it really bugs you that it's not pink, try to find young ginger - you will probably have to go to an Asian market or a large public market in a major metropolitan area with a large Asian population. I like mine just fine white. This is a great recipe, just the way I make mine. You will love the taste, don't worry that it's not pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Good recipe. I used apple cider vinegar with a dash of balsamic as I had ran out of rice vinegar (We live 150ks from nearest supply) did not have the natural pink color still tasted good and cleaned the pallet. Next time I might add a little finely sliced chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used my mandolin slicer for my ginger and still it didn't turn out as thin as I like. (I like mine paper thin) I'm still trying to figure out how to get it thin enough... The flavor was really good and you can just keep adding more ginger to the pickling as you go along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Fantastic! Only stored it for 2 days in the fridge and it was great. Sliced it thin on my mandoline before. It didn't turn pink, but my rice vinegar might have been "okay" quality. I aslo used splenda instead of sugar.I may have sliced it too thin, but for the salad Ginger Cabbage Salad recipe I used it in I think it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Almost perfect. This tastes much better than the store brand and comes very close to some of the restaurant quality gari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I didn't know this would be so easy to make. I didn't have any rice vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar, next time I make it I will try the rice vinegar and see if there is a difference.Mine tasted great.I used a regular potato peeler and it came out fine.I love having this on hand.thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States