Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Just like a Reese's!! Tried another recipe that wasn't quite that good...this one was great with a few modifications. I cut the butter in half, used smuckers natural creamy peanutbutter,and dumped out the oil(read about this in another review that someone did) before I used it to give it that drier consistency. A dash of salt, and just a handful of crushed graham crackers,turned out awesome! Also if it's not a thick consistency just add a little more powdered sugar.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I should have read the reviews first :) There's some quick and easy tips on here for the chocolate and filling. I did find the method tedious with the paintbrush, but enjoyable at the same time. The one thing I would for sure do is cut back drasticly on the confectors sugar. Or eliminate. I am not experienced, but I found these awfully sweet, so much that it overpowered the peanut butter taste. I'd like to try and get the right texture simply with the graham crumbs and PB. I would try again and use the tips about rolling the cooled PB mixture into small balls and pack them in. Or penny size discs. I dont have fancy baking tools, so paintbrush it is for me! But I found that doing half of the cups at a time while leaving the chocolate on 'melt' setting worked well. End result is the family LOVED them. Just too sweet for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These are really good. I used parchment paper muffin cups - they don't stick at all. Also increased the peanut butter to 1 cup and added extra graham crumbs to make up for the extra PB. The graham crumbs give them a nice texture. Would be extra good with crunchy PB (I only have smooth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are absolutely dangerous! I'm going to give them away as gifts. I didn't have mini muffin tins, so I created 5 gigantic cups with the recipe as it. A half or even quarter of one is more than enough. I added graham cracker to the PB mix (as suggested) and it turned out swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aallenv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were amazing and a huge hit! I have to admit I did alter it to make it a copycat of the well known brand. For the peanut butter mix I used half a stick of butter and 1 cup of creamy peanut butter. Then I added 1 cup of sifted powdered sugar. I stuck this is in the freezer to make it easier to roll into balls. I omitted the gram crackers entirely. I live in Japan and can't get Peanut butter cups, I'm glad to know that I can have the same exact thing if I make them myself! I don't think I can eat store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Was delicious I did not have the confectioners sugar or shortening so Improvised with granulated sugar and margarine. I did not make little cups and in stead of chocolate chips I used crushed aero chocolate bar which I had laying around. Instead of tiny little cups I took this same recipe and made one giant cup by taking a small cake pan and lining it with parchment paper then doing the chocolate the same as suggested and the filling I used 1 whole small jar of peanut butter and a lot of aero pieces 3 cups full this tasted great would be better with confectioners sugar. Total process took about 3 hours including the chilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I was so enthusiastic about this recipe, and then pretty disappointed. Really, the only problem I had with it is that the shortening mixed into the chocolate gives it that cheap 'mockolate' taste, like a discount chocolate Easter bunny. If I make this again I will leave out the shortening because it definitely alters the flavor of the chocolate. That would probably mean that the chocolate would not harden without some time in the fridge, but I'd be fine with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a hit!! Everyone who tried them said they were amazing! I didn't change a thing with the recipe and it came out perfect! I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips and Jif Extra Crunchy. I'll be using this again for my cookie exchange tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Really really good!!!! if you're not a fan of crunchy pb creamy works fine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very dry peanut filling, not peanut flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States