Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are very time consuming but worth it! I personally thought they were better than Reeses'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made these the other day but I used my own melted chocolate (I run my own little chocolate/baking business from home) and instead of using paper cups I molded them into roses and lips for valentines day. The peanut butter mixture reminded me of peanut butter cookie dough (when warm). When making it I mixed the icing sugar and graham cracker crumbs in a little bowl first before adding it to the melted Peanut butter mixture, and it mixed together perfectly. The first batch I did I let the mixture cool down just a bit in the fridge, then I used it. Tasted good, but the peanut mixture was a little too crumbly in the chocolate. So I put the rest of mixture in the fridge long enough to allow it to harden. I then brought it out and let it get to room temp, and for the next batch I took some crumbly mixture, rolled it into a little ball in my hand, then flattened it and dropped it into the chocolate. This made a much smoother texture to the finished product. Overall they were very tasty...my husband loved them so much I had to hide them from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Decadent Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I am definitely keeping this recipe! However, like most recipes on here, I tweaked and worked on some changes. In order for it to taste JUST like the Reese's peanut butter cups, I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the peanut butter - butter mixture, while being heated. I also lessened the butter by 10 grams and added more peanut butter, to catch that Reese's peanut butter consistency. To make it easier, next time, I will pour the chocolate into the paper cups, refrigerate and then pour the cold peanut butter mix into the cup, refrigerating again, and then finally adding the top most layer of chocolate. It makes for an attractive " cup " because you can see the three layers, rather than enclosed in a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe tastes good but like some of the other reviews I do not care for the texture of the graham crackers. I prefer the creamyness like most of the buckeye recipies. With that bieng said, I followed the directions as recipe states & they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
a lot of work but sooooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! Very similar to those store bought! I would use a bit less butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
So yummy! A friend had given me the vegan version of this recipe - which was still good, but not as good as this....amazing how adding a little butter improved the flavor and the crumbs gave it that perfect texture! I didn't melt the peanut butter mixture on the stove. It was at room temp and blended nicely, and it didn't seem to make a dif to the overall flavour or texture. Also, I added 1tbsp peanut butter to the chocolate. I just used the back of the spoon to spread the chocolate around. I stored mine in the fridge (but they didn't last long) and let people peel off their own wrappers as they ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I wasn't a big fan of the chunky peanut butter. I think next time I will use creamy peanut butter, but other than that, they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I've made peanut butter cups several times, always using different recipes. I assumed I'd like this recipe, with the graham crackers, better, because of the texture--but either I didn't crush the crackers finely enough or I don't like texture. They were a bit too gritty and unmixed-seeming for me. (In other words, I prefer the really simple recipes that don't call for graham crackers.) On a positive note, I used organic peanut butter (Adams creamy) and had no problem with runniness. I kept them in the fridge, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everythingwithyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I thought this was okay and that is because of the ingredients I used. That is why I am giving it 5 STARS. I had honey graham crackers and think cinnamon would have made it better and used natural pb(the one with the oil on top), had I used the unhealthy pb I think it would have tasted better. I will try it that way and see. Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States