Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wow....absolutely amazing!! According to my brother-in-law they were "the best thing he's ever put in his mouth". I tried what another reader suggested, by putting chocolate at the bottom & cooling, then rolling the dough into small balls and placing them in the center. I found that 1) the peanut butter mixture was very hot & I had to wait a while until it cooled, and 2) I needed more chocolate to completely cover the ball (not that more chocolate is a bad thing). I found that by following the recipe & coating the wrappers first made for the best looking cups. Took a bit longer but worth the wait. Also, the crunchy peanut butter adds a little texture to it- so, so, so yummy!! I would also make a little more chocolate just in case, so they're all nice & flat on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These are so good! I used half the amount of sugar, they turned out perfect! Probably could have gotten away with even less. After I brush them with chocolate, I put them in the frige or freezer so they keep better shape. I will always keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Better than the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These came out amazing! Aside from being a bit time consuming, they were very easy. I, too, had people say they were better than Reese's and I think I will be making them for all occasions from now on. I can't wait until I have another reason to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent! The cookies crumbs got soft, but I put some special sugar which stayed crunchy, it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Delicious! Tastes just like the real ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I tried this recipe tonight. I had the paper cups but decided to use a tip from another review to spread it into a 9X13 pan hoping to save some time. Well it worked, Wonderfully! My husband had been bugging me to make peanut butter cups but I'm a cook not a baker. But I gave it a shot anyway because I like a challenge. Well the recipe is delicious and well worth the effort. I will be making these again but will use the paper cups as directed in the original recipe. Some mentioned there chocolate got stiff waiting on the cups to cool. Use a double boiler and turn off the heat but leave the pan of chocolate over it. It will stay warm and soft. I didn't let my peanut butter cool before I poured it over the cooled shell. If I had it wouldn't have spread it cooled that quickly. TIP: if you use the pan method instead of cups line ur pan with wax paper. It makes removing them much easier. I cut them with a warm knife, quickly starting at the edge of the pan. Then lifted up on the wax paper to remove the candy. If you don't line the pan they are difficult to remove. Even if you oil or spray it first. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I love this recipe I made it to give to people for Valentines day... they are really good but take along time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These turned out great. I have now made two batched and they turned out very well both times. I did find that the recipe made enough of the peanut butter mixture for alot more peanut butter cups, so I continued melting chcoolate and shortening until the peanut butter mixture was gone. one important pointer: DO NOT paint the cups with chocolate all the way to the top! it makes the peanut butter cups harder to unwrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
i love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States