Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I was so enthusiastic about this recipe, and then pretty disappointed. Really, the only problem I had with it is that the shortening mixed into the chocolate gives it that cheap 'mockolate' taste, like a discount chocolate Easter bunny. If I make this again I will leave out the shortening because it definitely alters the flavor of the chocolate. That would probably mean that the chocolate would not harden without some time in the fridge, but I'd be fine with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a hit!! Everyone who tried them said they were amazing! I didn't change a thing with the recipe and it came out perfect! I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips and Jif Extra Crunchy. I'll be using this again for my cookie exchange tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Really really good!!!! if you're not a fan of crunchy pb creamy works fine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very dry peanut filling, not peanut flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
YUM!! amazing recpe! A couple of things to change while making them: melt down about a half cup more of chocolate chips because I ran out of chocolate for the tops! also, I would suggest melting them in two batches because by the time you need the chocolaate to put on the top it's too hard to work with. when you're putting the tops on, I would suggest freezing the cups for about 3 minutes before you put the top on becuse otherwise it's hard to spread, and you can get a more professional look witht the chocolate if it's not all gooey. All in all I thought that this was a wonderul recipe and it is alot of fun to make!!!! Thanks for reading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
They were good- the texture threw me off though. They weren't as creamy as I would like them. They were too gritty for my liking, but still good. Will try altering the amount of graham crackers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I didn't have any mini muffin papers, so I decided to make regular sized cups. The amount of chocolate mix was perfect for 12 medium cups. However, I had to make a second batch of filling, since there was only enough for 6 of them. Also, remember to take the peanut butter off the stove BEFORE adding the icing and graham cracker crumbs, otherwise the mixture will be too thin. Although these were very time-consuming (especially for one person) they were well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great ricipe! I did however make a change in the way to coat the peanut butter balls. I put a small amount of chocolate in the cup then placed the peanut butter ball then added more chocolate to cover.YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamglutenfree
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These are so extremly easy to make and SOOO good! I made mine gluten and corn free (powdered sugar contains corn starch) by using GF rice crispies and making my own powdered sugar. I used 1 2/3 cup organic dark chocolate chips and 1/3 milk chocolate chips, I cut out the shortening completely and used butter:) I also used creamy PB instead of crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamglutenfree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Was very impressed with how these yummy chocolates turned out. I used regular sized cupcake cups and trimmed them in half. I was worried the paper would be hard the come off after the chocolate set..but they were fine! I brought them to a family reunion this weekend and they were eaten up so quickly! Try this recipe..you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States