Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used all natural peanut butter that had been sweetened with molasses, adding to that 3/4 c of confectioners sugar ( as to not make them overly sweet) and lastly using gingersnaps in place of graham crackers. I enjoyed the peanut butter filling being flaky, contrasting the creamy chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made the recipe as written and thought it was too sweet and not similar to the candy at all. Getting past my expectations that they taste exactly like the storebought kind this was a tasty treat, but I remade them a second time with some alterations to the filling (less powdered sugar and a touch of salt) to make them more familiar tasting. The use of crunchy peanut butter and graham cracker crumbs gives these great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I substituted dark chocolate for the milk chocolate chips. I chopped up solid bars from the dollar store. I think it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I used dark chocolate instead. I just "glopped" a bit of the chocolate in each cup, refrigerated while I made the peanut butter filling, with creamy pb, after filling I put the remaining chocolate on right away. The warm pb filling stuck to the chocolate better. Yum!!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I've made these 3 times now. Yes they do take time, but they are so very good! The method you use to get the chocolate into the cup and to cover it doesnt matter, as long as they all get together they will taste fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StonedMama
Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is one awesome peanut butter cup recipe! I've tried some other ones but I like the graham cracker addition to it. When I don't have them, I substitute saltine crackers, it works just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Terrific! If you love peanut butter cups, you'll feel like you just opened a store-bought package when you taste these. My mom and I made them the other day, and that was fun in itself. We did run out of the peanut butter mixture with still three cups to fill (that was because our cups were slightly larger than the recipe called for), so we just substituted with a spoonful of peanut butter. Those were good, too. Thank you for sharing this recipe! It will be used again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herbster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Just like a Reese's!! Tried another recipe that wasn't quite that good...this one was great with a few modifications. I cut the butter in half, used smuckers natural creamy peanutbutter,and dumped out the oil(read about this in another review that someone did) before I used it to give it that drier consistency. A dash of salt, and just a handful of crushed graham crackers,turned out awesome! Also if it's not a thick consistency just add a little more powdered sugar.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I should have read the reviews first :) There's some quick and easy tips on here for the chocolate and filling. I did find the method tedious with the paintbrush, but enjoyable at the same time. The one thing I would for sure do is cut back drasticly on the confectors sugar. Or eliminate. I am not experienced, but I found these awfully sweet, so much that it overpowered the peanut butter taste. I'd like to try and get the right texture simply with the graham crumbs and PB. I would try again and use the tips about rolling the cooled PB mixture into small balls and pack them in. Or penny size discs. I dont have fancy baking tools, so paintbrush it is for me! But I found that doing half of the cups at a time while leaving the chocolate on 'melt' setting worked well. End result is the family LOVED them. Just too sweet for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These are really good. I used parchment paper muffin cups - they don't stick at all. Also increased the peanut butter to 1 cup and added extra graham crumbs to make up for the extra PB. The graham crumbs give them a nice texture. Would be extra good with crunchy PB (I only have smooth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States