Homemade Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Oh my god!! These are the best ever! Sooo light and fluffy... no idea what the 'dense' comments were all about. (Try not to add the listed amount of flour... I didn't add the listed amount and mine turned out fine. Just be sure to change the the directions around... Dissolve the sugar into the warm water, then add yeast. Let it sit for 10mins. Then add milk (replace the water with milk), oil, and beaten egg. Then add listed amount of flour, and salt. Add the remaining flour if required. Also, when baking- be really careful of the baking time. Mine baked perfectly in the minimum time-12mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
My nephew (9) and I recently made this. I followed the recipe exactly and was surprised when it turned out like the school bread that I used to love!!! It was crisp on the outside and soft and doughy inside... so delicious!!! My husband has yet to try it, so I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
TERRIFIC! I made these tonight and they were simply terrific. Recipe is fail proof too apparently - I changed the milk to water as we have lactose issues in the house and I used 2 yolks left over from ones I needed to separate in another bread yesterday in place of the whole egg. They tasted just like the golden egg bread from the store - ONLY FRESH! Oh - and I did cut the sugar in half too just because i didnt want too sweet of a roll for dinner. SO *****5 stars for a great recipe i could not mess up! Rolls were still fresh at breakfast too!...... ******************************************Been making these for almost a year now and they remain our favorite diner rolls from this site. If you are considering them for your holiday meal then please try them! I have mine made, baked and frozen already for Thanksgiving dinner - just defrost, heat and serve - they are so good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My mom couldn't believe I made these. They were so yummy. I made them for Thanksgiving. I cooked them before I put the turkey in the oven in the morning, and then I popped them back in the oven while I was letting my turkey rest. That way everyone had nice warm rolls. Excellent recipe! These are my personal notes: Dissolve the sugar into the warm water, then add yeast. Let it sit for 10mins. Then add milk (replace the water with milk), oil, and beaten egg. Then add listed amount of flour, and salt. Add the remaining flour if required. Also, when baking- be really careful of the baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
These where pretty good. Made two times....the second time, I did follow the ingred. order from the reviewer above me and I think they did turn out better. 24 rolls worked perfect in my 9x13 stone casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Used my new KA Mixer, and I used the dough hook all the way! Step one needed some scaping down the bowl but once it was all mixed, I let it knead for 8 minutes! Make sure you only add 1/4 cup flour at a time at the end....I did not need all the flour(right at 3 cups total) but it all depends on your flour and the moisture in the air. These are so so SOFT and FLUFFY! Almost like Parkerhouse dinner rolls but tastier! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by DAMARIS
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are awesome....I combine sugar, yeast and warm water for 10 minutes then add that and all other ingredients to my ka for 8 minutes.....let rise for an hr....cut, roll, put in pan...pour melted butter over...let rise another 1/2 hr and bake at 350 until golden brown.....yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
i use this pizza dough too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
OMG these were the best. Soft and fluffy and very easy to make. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Using my Kitchen Aid to combine the ingredients, this took physically no more than 20 minutes. I followed this recipe closely, only using regular yeast (I did NOT have rapid rise), melted butter instead of shortening and AP flour instead of bread flour. I let the yeast sit with the warm milk/water and sugar for 10 minutes in the mixer bowl, then added the egg, butter and the dry ingredients. This only needed a couple more tablespoons of flour to get it to form a solid ball so I could knead it with the dough hook. This rose beautifully both times. The first time I let it rise, it took an hour to double on the warm heating pad in a greased, covered bowl--the second time I let it rise, I used my dry 1/4 measuring cup to form uniform rolls, rolled them into a nice ball and set them in a greased muffin tin and covered it with saran wrap and set it to rise on the warm heating pad for a half hour. I got 11 good sized rolls out of one recipe--not 24. 400* for 12 minutes and they were ready to go. The butter brushed over the top was just WONDERFUL. Lightly sweet, very nice yeast dinner roll. VERY easy. I'll make this recipe again. NOTE: BE SURE you double this recipe if you want more than 11-12 rolls. This does not make the full 24 that it states. If you're making this for a large gathering/group, you'll want to adjust the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States