Homemade Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made these rolls today and I was not real happy. I followed the recipe/directions to a T, and still the rolls didn't rise. Once baked I thought they looked OK but they were "heavy" and quite stiff. The flavor was ok. Not sure what went wrong, but I think I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We loved these, I didn't have any regular milk, so I substituted coconut milk and there wasn't a single roll left for the next day. I also didn't have rapid rise yeast, so I used the warm water and sugar to proof 3 teaspoons of yeast for about 10 minutes. This will be a staple for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Casperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These rolls are fantastic. Just a note that the recipe only yields 24 buns (not 48 as suggested by the instructions to divide each half into 48 equal portions). They are soft, sweet and delicious - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I would like to make these rolls, but can someone tell me what "shortening" they use for this recipe? Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
OMG!!! These are the easiest rolls to make and they are the best! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and dissolved the sugar into the warm water and then added the yeast. These rolls turned out light and fluffy. My family couldn't stop eating them. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Mine weren't nearly as pretty as the picture. In fact, they almost had a biscuit-like appearance on top, which I attribute to my lack of experience with yeast doughs. Fortunately, they tasted MUCH better than they looked. Soft on the inside, with a nice crust on the edge (topped off with a little melted butter as soon as I removed from the oven)--my family loved these! Even the picky kiddos loved them, and that's saying a LOT. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! This will be the one I use when I have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made with Christmas dinner. One of the easiest yeast recipes I've ever used. Dough came together very quickly, not much needing was necessary. Rose very well. Baked up quick. DELICIOUS, soft, warm and sweet. A new favorite here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy0610

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The first time I made these, I did the recipe as is and it was a bit sweet for me. The second time I cut down and it wasn't sweet enough for the kiddies but perfect for me. I think I found the goldylocks zone on the third batch. 1/8 cup plus 1 tbsp sugar is more than enough. After cutting the dough into chunks I also poked the center and filled them with lightly glazed vidalia onions in all but the ones for the kids. They increase well for sandwiches too provided you leave enough room in between them for expansion and even cooking. Thanks for the recipe. Next time, the onions go in all of them so I get a taste before little hands make off with the goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAMARIS
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are awesome....I combine sugar, yeast and warm water for 10 minutes then add that and all other ingredients to my ka for 8 minutes.....let rise for an hr....cut, roll, put in pan...pour melted butter over...let rise another 1/2 hr and bake at 350 until golden brown.....yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were outstanding! Everyone gobbled them up and then went back for more. This is definitely my new favorite roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLSHILLINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States