Homemade Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Made these this morning & they turned out so yummy! I started the yeast in the milk, water & sugar and didn't need all the flour - I live at a high altitude & don't know if that's the reason or not, but I never have to add as much flour as a recipe calls for. I determine how much to use by adding in small amounts until dough comes away from the bowl easily then stop regardless of how much I've used or what the recipe calls for. If I add more, I have heavy bread, so that may be why some people found these heavy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Rolls were tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These are the best! I make them for every holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I was in a hurry so I put all the ingredients, wet first, then dry followed by shortening into my bread machine and ran on bread setting, when done continued to step 3 and it worked fantastic. A Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
You would not believe how easy and delicious these are! I make them every chance I get! They remind me of the warm yeast rolls from the cafeteria in elementary school. Make sure to have plenty of butter handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My mom couldn't believe I made these. They were so yummy. I made them for Thanksgiving. I cooked them before I put the turkey in the oven in the morning, and then I popped them back in the oven while I was letting my turkey rest. That way everyone had nice warm rolls. Excellent recipe! These are my personal notes: Dissolve the sugar into the warm water, then add yeast. Let it sit for 10mins. Then add milk (replace the water with milk), oil, and beaten egg. Then add listed amount of flour, and salt. Add the remaining flour if required. Also, when baking- be really careful of the baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
look good but a little hard maybe on my next try it well come out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
TERRIFIC! I made these tonight and they were simply terrific. Recipe is fail proof too apparently - I changed the milk to water as we have lactose issues in the house and I used 2 yolks left over from ones I needed to separate in another bread yesterday in place of the whole egg. They tasted just like the golden egg bread from the store - ONLY FRESH! Oh - and I did cut the sugar in half too just because i didnt want too sweet of a roll for dinner. SO *****5 stars for a great recipe i could not mess up! Rolls were still fresh at breakfast too!...... ******************************************Been making these for almost a year now and they remain our favorite diner rolls from this site. If you are considering them for your holiday meal then please try them! I have mine made, baked and frozen already for Thanksgiving dinner - just defrost, heat and serve - they are so good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I was slightly disappointed with the texture of these rolls, but maybe it is because I used butter instead of shortening; I won't take off for that since it was my choice! The flavor was really great, but I found them to be slightly crumbly, instead of fluffy, like I really wanted. I followed all of the rising times (all three of them). I would consider trying these again, just because the taste was really lovely. Thank you for sharing this with us, Puddin Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great Rolls! I did them in my bread machine and they came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States