Homemade Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
5 star for flavor, will have to double the batch for next time didn't quiet have enough to go through Christmas dinner..thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are my new bun recipe =) Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is an excellent recipe for bread making and I used it about 4-5 times when we have large family meals, The rolls dont' even last until dinner is served, I have substituted butter for the shortning, add another 1/4 cup of sugar and let rise for about 2 1/2 hrs, this makes them lighter and fluffier, Thanks puddin pie for a great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Rolls turned out very nice-- despite the obvious typos in the directions. I did not proof the yeast beforehand- just tossed it all in and went to mixing. Ended up only needed about 3 cups of flour. Fit perfectly in my 9x13 pan, and made 24 soft delicious rolls. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Using my Kitchen Aid to combine the ingredients, this took physically no more than 20 minutes. I followed this recipe closely, only using regular yeast (I did NOT have rapid rise), melted butter instead of shortening and AP flour instead of bread flour. I let the yeast sit with the warm milk/water and sugar for 10 minutes in the mixer bowl, then added the egg, butter and the dry ingredients. This only needed a couple more tablespoons of flour to get it to form a solid ball so I could knead it with the dough hook. This rose beautifully both times. The first time I let it rise, it took an hour to double on the warm heating pad in a greased, covered bowl--the second time I let it rise, I used my dry 1/4 measuring cup to form uniform rolls, rolled them into a nice ball and set them in a greased muffin tin and covered it with saran wrap and set it to rise on the warm heating pad for a half hour. I got 11 good sized rolls out of one recipe--not 24. 400* for 12 minutes and they were ready to go. The butter brushed over the top was just WONDERFUL. Lightly sweet, very nice yeast dinner roll. VERY easy. I'll make this recipe again. NOTE: BE SURE you double this recipe if you want more than 11-12 rolls. This does not make the full 24 that it states. If you're making this for a large gathering/group, you'll want to adjust the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These were excellent!!! Will always use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made nine cinnamon rolls and twelve small dinner rolls, which is perfect for two people to enjoy this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Reminds me of school cafeteria rolls! Wonderful! Time consuming, but well worth the effort :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
WOW! I have always feared the attempt to make a sweet dinner roll --- but NO MORE SO!!! THis was sooo easy to make. if you follow the directions there is NO WAY you can mess it up! They were so light and fluffy, i should have used a bigger pan as they really rise up nice. My husband asked me several times if i REALLY made them - yes sir, yes sir! I always make a recipe exactly the first time - next time i think i will add some herbs, but that's only as i like herbs, but it was a PERFECT dinner roll - thank you Puddin Pie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Have made these several times and they are absolutely delicious. They freeze well and I just heat them in foil in the oven and they are just like freshly made buns. My family loves them. Could not be an easier recipe. I do all by hand, no mixer, and they are just as good. Good with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States