Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a good basic recipe, however some seem to find it dry. I suggest you start with your egg (I usually am making for a large meal and use 6-8 eggs), mix your flour and salt to taste, then combine a little flour at a time until the mixture sticks together well, then add a little more flour and move to a bread board or a floured smooth service to knead by hand until you can pat it out, then sprinkle a little more flour and start rolling it out and adding flour as needed to avoid sticking to surfaces. Once it is rolled to 1/8" then let it rest and dry a bit before cutting into noodles. I like to cut the large circle into about 4-5" strips, then start cutting into noodles with a pizza cutter, it works really great and is faster than with a knife. Let dry several hours then drop into boiling broth a few at a time. If making a large batch, it is better to pinch off a smaller ball to work with on your bread board. You can also lay the noodles on parchment paper to dry to clear your working surface. Hope this helps. I've been making these for 50 years and everyone begs for my noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Foust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
u can also buy a noodle cutter which u roll dough out flat and cut your dough a lot better than rollin it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very similar to my mother's recipe. She added just a pinch of baking powder. For a little extra moisture she would add half an eggshell of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
These were fantastic in a pot of home made soup I made. Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is you definitely need to add a tablespoon or two otherwise it won't turn out right. Will use this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good basic egg noodle. I recommend starting with about 3/4 cup flour per egg and a splash of olive oil. Add more flour as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I too remember these from my grandmother's kitchen. These turned out exactly as I remember them. The stock thickens ever so slightly from the flour and you get a wonderfully homey thick noodle coated with an almost gravy. Mmmmmmmmm. Thanks so much for sharing and bringing back such a lovely memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These noodles have been a holiday tradition for all my 55 years. I have tried following this recipe but it is impossible to get all the flour mixed in...the original recipe calls for 2 tbsp of milk. Beat your egg before adding other ingredients. Once everything is mixed, be sure to have a very clean wide space of countertop. Spread a c. of flour on the counter & roll your dough out, turning it over several times to keep wet parts from sticking. Roll very thin because the noodles will swell when cooked. Once it is the right thickness, roll the flat dough jelly roll style, making sure every part is covered with flour or the roll will stick. At this point, I like to lay mine on a cutting board because I spent years with counters that would be cut using a knife. I suggest sharpening your knife before cutting. I like 1/2" slices,and once they are cut, I throw them all back onto the flour I rolled them out on, and unroll them, making sure all noodles are covered in flour, then shake off the excess. I leave them out on the counter overnight to dry. They will still be somewhat moist so if you are not using them immediately, put them in a ziplock & freeze, otherwise they will stick together if closed in a container. I make 3 individual batches for up to 12 people...trust me, making each separately will make the dough easier to work with. The last,& most important tip, make sure your broth is boiling, adding & stirring a handful of noodles at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It's great that so many people could make the recipe work with more liquid, but the recipe AS WRITTEN is way too dry - it produces a crumbly mess! I had to add another egg while the dough was already half formed, and it was difficult but not impossible to incorporate it. Two tbsp of liquid (milk or water) would probably do it as well. With the addition(s) it makes a chewy, delicious noodle, but the recipe posted here does not work. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe did not work. way to dry i had to add water and oil to make it able to roll out to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars because of its simplicity. As many reviewers have pointed out, the dough from the above recipe may be too dry, so add a little half & half, or milk, or an egg yolk, depending on your preference. I just made these and needed to add both half & half AND an egg yolk and ended up needing to add a small dollop of flour to bring the dough to the proper texture. Be brave and take the plunge, it isn't difficult to resolve if you understand how to work with dough. If you don't, you'll learn. In the end, you'll have delicious homemade noodles with NO preservatives and a taste that's terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Homemade Fettuccine Pasta

Make homemade fettuccine with or without a pasta machine.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States