Homemade Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Probably the best nacho sauce I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sparkler
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
So easy when you follow the video! To save time, used 1 lb combined of sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese in place of all the spices. Served atop warm tortilla chips with fresh pico de gallo. Devoured at work Happy Hour. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Eliza
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Loved this! I will definitely be making this again! As for the reviews that said it came out grainy, it sounds as if the cheese separated, which will happen when allowed to get too hot. A crock pot on warm for several hours is just too long. This is definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
After having crafted a grainy (and horrible) cheese sauce several times in a row, i've finally found an idiot proof way to make it perfect every time. Before adding in any cheese turn off the burner and let the white sauce cool to almost room temperature. At that point you can add the cheese and return the sauce to the burner on LOW until the cheese melts into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
this is a big big hit with my husband and his buddies......i throw in a can of rotel tomatoes as well, adjusting the flour to thicken things up to the proper consistency. i added about 1t of cayenne, but we like things really really spicy! for those of you whose nacho cheese came out grainy, lower your heat! and for those whose product came out lumpy, always remember, hot roux, cold liquid equals lump free product. yes, this is more expensive, and more work than store bought nacho cheese, but is vastly superior. another hit for chef john!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe! Thank you Chef John for teaching us all how to make a proper roux! I have always had such trouble with good sauces and now that I have the beginning steps down, I have been able to create tons of successful variations. Btw this recipe can be altered to make some wonderful homemade mac and cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This came out very thin. I ended up adding an additional 1 1/2 cups of cheddar cheese. The flavor was just ok for me. I actually preferred it cold when it had set up a little. The recipe was easy to follow. Went along with the video on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
DELICIOUS! If you have the time and are using good cheeses, this is an amazing nacho cheese sauce. If you watch the video, you'll see how to avoid getting a grainy texture (low temp). Also..."cold milk + hot roux = no lumps." Will make this for the Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorem Ipsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this for the Redskins vs Seahawks wildcard game, and it did come together nicely, but it was deemed a bit bland. Most of my guests added some of the fresh diced jalapeño I had sitting beside it. It was nice and creamy when freshly made right before the game, but by half-time it was grainy and just awful, after sitting in a 2-qt slow cooker on "warm". Not one I'll make again, a rare miss from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States