Homemade Mozzarella Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lili Goehring
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I submitted this recipe. Just a note: the way this was edited is not quite right. In step 2, I do not moisten any edges before I start rolling the string cheese up. Where is says to roll to the end and press to seal, I take a fork dipped in water and dab the inside of the open corner with it, then finishg rolling and press to seal. Also, in step 4, I repeat dipping the mozzarella sticks into the egg wash and into the bread crumbs. And of course, serve with marinara sauce ;). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These were very good, but I think they should be fried at a lower temp, maybe 325 or 350 because they browned up really fast, but the egg roll wrapper still seemed a little raw. I took the submitter's advice and double breaded them and that created an awesome crispy coating, which I loved! Also, I didn't measure the milk, but I know that I did not use the full 2 cups, maybe only 1/2-3/4 cup and I still had some leftover after double dipping the sticks. These may seem a little time consuming, but they are absolutely not. All in all this was a great concept and they are good! I will definately be making these again with a few minor adjustments! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These are great Mozz sticks, my Hubby liked them and that deserves a 20 in my book.. I put the left over ones in the freezer. The one thing I am going to do is also put some, parm cheese in the Italian mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
So easy and delicious! 1 egg + 1/2 c milk. Double dip bread crumbs. Heat oil to 325/350 (medium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Not good. I tried these because I've had mozzarella sticks explode in the fryer, but this recipe is just bad. The breaded egg roll wrapper is far too thick and the texture is unappetizing. Try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
bravo bravo love it love it love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmelpet
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good..i added some Montreal steak rub to the breading and Franks hot sauce to the egg wash to add some kick to the flavor. Double breaded them and fried at about 345*F. Turned out deliciously amazing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome! I really enjoyed this, took the advice of another reviewer and lowered the temp to about 340-345 ish and these came out perfectally! Nice and crunchy and the wrapper didnt seem raw at all! yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I wasn't sure how there would turn out. The egg roll wrappers on cheese sticks sounded strange, but they were REALLY good! Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made these for New Year's and they were a hit. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States