Homemade Mince Pie with Crumbly Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was my first foray into Mince Meat pie and I liked it. I made regular pie crust top, and worried it would make pie to watery, but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made the mincemeat but added currants, dried cranberries and rum! Reduced the number of raisins and apples to accommodate the increase in other ingredients. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nasa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoryLove
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
We couldn't find a ready-made mince pie at any of the nearby grocery stores this year, so we decided to make one from scratch using this recipe. This turned out to be the best mince pie I've ever tasted! Even non-mince pie lovers said it was delicious. I made it with the following changes: *I substituted candied orange peel for the grapefruit peel. *Instead of half a ground graham cracker, I added a whole ground graham cracker to the filling, because my filling needed thickening. The result was perfect thickness once it had cooled. *I substituted currants for 1/2 cup of the raisins. *I also doubled the crumbly topping. Those were the only changes I made. I used red delicious apples and made the filling the day before. I kept the filling in the fridge, then the following day I put it in the pie shell and baked it. After baking, I just let the pie sit at room temp until serving the next day. It did fine at room temp. It sliced beautifully and held its shape. This pie was very easy to make, and it was absolutely delicious. We'll definitely never go back to the store bought or "from a jar" mince pies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
this pie is the best mince I've ever tasted. Or made. I baked one for Thanksgiving and my brother had 3 pieces then took the rest of it home. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used a refrigerated crust and a little extra graham cracker on the top and this pie was AMAZING! I've never made a pie before, and this one was so easy and it came out wonderfully! Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it, even though most of us hadn't had Mince before. I will DEFINITELY make this again (and again!). The topping was the best pat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My husband's favorite holiday dessert is mince pie, so I thought I'd try to make him one. His reaction to this one? "It's crazy good!" Yes, that's a quote. I don't even like mince pie and I love this one. The only substitution I did was swapping nutmeg for the cloves, because I didn't have any on hand. It was delicious. It's a good thing I made two, because I'm taking the extra to Grandma's for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabbiecat77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this tonight for a family gathering and it was a big hit! I used a premade deep dish pie shell (made it a little easier to prepare), and it still tastes great. Served the pie with vanilla ice cream, and got lots of compliments! Everyone liked the streusel topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I doubled the recipe and planned to follow it exactly. However, there seemed to be too much liquid (maybe because of the type of apple used). I removed about a cup of liquid after cooking the apples but before adding the sugar. I also added 2 heaping soup spoons of rice flour. The pies were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used this recipe and put another crust layer on top instead of the crumble topping. I made earlier in the week and froze it and then baked it up the night of dinner. It looked very nice but does not slice very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Made it per recipe except I used dried cranberries for 1/3 of the raisins and added a T. of Grand Marnier for extra flavor. I used Splenda/brown blend for the streusel topping. Next time I'd use less sugar in the fruit, as it was a bit too sweet, and add some nuts. It's a lot of peeling and chopping, but really good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States