Homemade Mince Pie with Crumbly Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was my first foray into Mince Meat pie and I liked it. I made regular pie crust top, and worried it would make pie to watery, but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was not like traditional Mince Pie. It was more like an apple raisin pie. It was good; just not mince.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
this pie is the best mince I've ever tasted. Or made. I baked one for Thanksgiving and my brother had 3 pieces then took the rest of it home. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My hubby asked for mince pie, wasn't familiar, tried this. This is apple/plumped raisin pie with a streusel topping. The raisins are sooo plump!! A bit of a rum raisin taste, without rum. Quite yummy! It was kind of a lot of work, mostly dicing. Subbed 1/2 lemon,1/2 orange dried jarred peel so I didn't waste a dollar on a grapefruit peel. I used 1/2 granny, 1/2 red and added 1/4 cup brown sugar. Skip the granny smith all together, too bitter for this....go red apple. Sooo...good pie, 2-3 hours work, if this is the kind of pie you're craving:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Made it per recipe except I used dried cranberries for 1/3 of the raisins and added a T. of Grand Marnier for extra flavor. I used Splenda/brown blend for the streusel topping. Next time I'd use less sugar in the fruit, as it was a bit too sweet, and add some nuts. It's a lot of peeling and chopping, but really good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I doubled the recipe and planned to follow it exactly. However, there seemed to be too much liquid (maybe because of the type of apple used). I removed about a cup of liquid after cooking the apples but before adding the sugar. I also added 2 heaping soup spoons of rice flour. The pies were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used a refrigerated crust and a little extra graham cracker on the top and this pie was AMAZING! I've never made a pie before, and this one was so easy and it came out wonderfully! Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it, even though most of us hadn't had Mince before. I will DEFINITELY make this again (and again!). The topping was the best pat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this tonight for a family gathering and it was a big hit! I used a premade deep dish pie shell (made it a little easier to prepare), and it still tastes great. Served the pie with vanilla ice cream, and got lots of compliments! Everyone liked the streusel topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used this recipe and put another crust layer on top instead of the crumble topping. I made earlier in the week and froze it and then baked it up the night of dinner. It looked very nice but does not slice very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My husband's favorite holiday dessert is mince pie, so I thought I'd try to make him one. His reaction to this one? "It's crazy good!" Yes, that's a quote. I don't even like mince pie and I love this one. The only substitution I did was swapping nutmeg for the cloves, because I didn't have any on hand. It was delicious. It's a good thing I made two, because I'm taking the extra to Grandma's for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabbiecat77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States