Homemade Melt-In-Your-Mouth Dark Chocolate (Paleo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Homemade Melt-In-Your-Mouth Dark Chocolate (Paleo)" is out-of-this-world delicious! Oh my goodness! I used flavorless "refined" organic coconut oil (not "virgin" coconut oil) since I don't like the characteristic fruity taste of coconut oil in most recipes. My coconut oil was liquid at room temperature, so I wasn't going to bother to heat it. I found that the honey kept separating from the coconut oil when I tried to mix them at room temperature. Then I remembered something I learned in chemistry class: liquids are more soluble at higher temperatures. I heated the honey and oil together and they still didn't mix together very well (although better). Then I remembered something I learned in English class: read the instructions! Everything mixed together well when I followed the instructions. I put my organic dutch-processed cocoa powder through a sieve to make sure that it was free of all lumps. I also made my chocolates in a paper-lined mini-muffin tin (yield: 12). Important Tip: I found it much easier to remove my chocolates from the mini-muffin tin when they were freshly set after 1 hour of refrigeration (easy removal) rather than after they were well hardened (pry out with a knife). Thank you Linda (LMT) for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe was incredibly easy and delicious. I had no trouble with adding the honey just as the recipe said. I added 2 tablespoons peanut butter and a little coarse salt. My whole family loved it and we will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I found this searching for recipes that work with my son's allergies, and I love it! Easy and delicious, and soy- free so my son can eat it! I heated up the honey before adding it to the coconut oil and cocoa powder, then put the chocolates in the freezer to set faster and didn't have trouble with mixing or separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have a question..... Instead of honey i used 4 tablespoons of sucanat.. i will try honey tomorrow maybe.. please let me know what i must do to make them not melt, organic way of doing it of course.. please help.. thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I saw some comments about the honey sinking to the bottom, so I put the honey in after the chocolate mixture was in the refrigerator for around 15 minutes. The honey didn't sink to the bottom. If you're going to try to put the honey in after it has been in the refrigerator for a little bit, I would suggest checking about every 5 minutes, to make sure you don't miss the perfect time to add the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Yum! Delish. I wasn't sure what it was going to taste like but it's very, very good. I added some Vietnamese cinnamon. Next time I'm going to add chopped nuts. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberley
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Worked perfectly!! Took 5 min to make. Poured in the middle of a parchment lined baking sheet, put it outside in -30: voila, chocolate in 10 min :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Super easy recipe and incredibly delicious! I added a little sprinkle of sea salt to mine for a variation and it was amazing! Love that this recipe uses honey rather than granulated sugar. Still high calories, but nice option for an indulgent sweet to eat in moderation that doesn't have all the additives of processed foods. You could probably add even less honey and it would still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Safirstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Calculated Nutrition Information! I made this exactly as written except I added a small pinch of salt. I let it set up in the fridge for 20 minutes before adding the honey, as some have suggested. I haven't checked for separation (hasn't been in the fridge long enough) but my eyes rolled in the back of head a little just licking the spoon! I know now what I'm making for Christmas goodie giveaways! So easy! 1g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Hey Linda, You don't know it yet but you are my new best friend! Allergic reaction and guilt free YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States