Homemade Mayonnaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I make half of this. It keeps for a couple of weeks. The trick to getting a nice thick spread is the speed of the pour. You want a thin stream. The runny messes i had i turned into salad dressing by adding garlic and herbs or powdered hidden valley ranch mix. It does take practice. I did find online what to do if it turns out runny. Google is my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I guess I must be doing something wrong. I tried to make this recipe twice and each time just ended up with an egg colored oily mess. It would not emulsify into mayonnaise. I tried first with a stick blender in a cup, then a Kitchenaid Blender. I followed the directions both times, slowly adding the oil. Still made just an egg yolk colored greasy mess. I only gave this one star because it is apparently my fault that the recipe did not work, nothing against the recipe. I hated wasting all those ingredients though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I was excited about this recipe until I got to the part about refrigerating for up to 3 days. Only way to use 2+ cups of mayo would be to make 2 cakes and 10 sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Look out! Too much lemon! 2 Tbsp is more than enough. Really don't understand the point of the paprika, if you want white mayo, don't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
be sure to use free-range eggs for optimal taste and nutrition! this is delicious and SO easy - why buy the jar? next time i'll try spicing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I did not like this dressing. The taste of it made my stomach literally roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I agree with Lalli, I have researched many combinations and 2 Tsp is consistent with her recommendation. Suggestion: for a healthier substitute, use light olive oil, walnut or avocado. My family really likes walnut oil, but it is hard on the blender. You need to invest in sturdy equipment. Blender, food processor, or blender can be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
cut the lemon juice in half (or use red wine vinegar) - it's too lemony otherwise. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp seasoning salt and managed to salvage the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Firth, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moreland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States