Homemade Marshmallows II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Tried this recipe twice, maybe it is just me but I ended up with a white crumbly mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I think your forgetting the gelatin or agar agar? Because you can't make marshmallows without one of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
For me, this didn't work out as a marshmallow recipe. It definitely needed gelatin. After it crumbled in the mixer, I decided to add orange extract and a splash of water and it made a wonderful center for shaping and dipping in chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
A note to a vegans: Emes kosher gel is not vegan. Vegan Supreme marshmallows recently went out of business when they discovered that Emes kosher does contain animal products. Find out more in the Sept/Oct issue of VegNews magazine. Use agar as an alternative gelling agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Hah, well, the recipe didn't work at all for marshmallows, but all was not lost! I heated it to around 20 degrees hotter, then added some powdered ginger and clove, and now I've got myself some tasty hard candies. =p There is definitely some sort of ingredient or two missing in this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I tried to make this twice and it was a hard glob of sugar both times. I think an ingredient must have been left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
There is a product called Eme's Kosher Gel; it is a VEGAN alternative to gelatin, and I've used it a few times to make marshmallows. They actually used to market incredible vegan marshmallows, but I haven't been able to find those for awhile. The company is located in Lombard, IL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This recipe does not even deserve a one, because all three times that I tried to make it, it never turned out! I dont know if the directions are wrong or just not specific enough but definately not one that I would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSHMONGER
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Use Pure granulated cane sugar and the recipe works fine.My marshmallows turned out just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSHMONGER

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Wasted 6 cups of sugar and 1 hour of my time. Turns to powder every time I whip it. Something's definitely missing. Wish I had read the reviews before I started. Won't make that mistake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States